We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proof on Main

Proof on Main
702 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)
502-217-6360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,560 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
DeLand, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In town for a meeting and had the luxury to meet up with my colleague. Brunch was nice, but dinner was great and the staff fun, friendly, and knowledge. The vegetarian options were unique and delightful. I loved the warm ricotta! My colleague loved the bones plate and scallops. The wine: 2006 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Kathryn Kennedy was also nice. Chef Levon -- great job.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    137
    53
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lively bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a fun, lively bar. Very groovy inside with all the modern art. The bartenders are great, as are the cocktails!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Place World Class!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We ate here after getting back from Paris, France. Proof compared very well to some of the best places we ate at overseas and was far better than many!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“Place was packed on a Monday night......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and thought we had to eat here. Was it good yes....was it fantastic...no, but our expectations were high..

The starter we shared of charred squid was exceptional. Full of flavour and taste. We then followed this with a bison tartar, which I was disappointed with. It was not bad, but simply the meat lacked flavour. Being raw and fresh out of the fridge it may have tasted of more had it been at room temperature, but it could be that I got to taste a less than tasty bison and as it is not cooked it was the real unadulterated thing. My partner's yellow fin tuna crudo tasted good.

Onto mains....I went for the burger which was cooked rare as I had asked, my only minor dissatisfaction was that the accompanying fries were VERY salty. My partners chicken and dumplings got 10/10.

The place was however a little too noisy, nothing the management could do about it, but it made for difficult conversation. The staff were lively and efficient and earned their service.

In conclusion...would we go again yes, but perhaps slightly lower our expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great meal and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks at the bar and a great meal. Although the menu changes, we found many of our favorites listed. The calamari appetizer was very good and the bison burger did not disappoint. The melon cotton candy that comes with the bill is wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proof on Main also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Proof on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proof on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.