We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another reasonable but not great restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Proof on Main

Proof on Main
702 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)
502-217-6360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,505 restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another reasonable but not great restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Restaurant has not maintained its leading edge culinary adventures. the octopus was a hit but has been on the menu for years and the restaurant has not found another star. Their entrees are interesting but very typical, wine list is mainstream - so, many new places in Louisville. A good place to go if you have never been, but not a place to return to with so many other exciting options

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    198
    100
    45
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We went in for a late meal at 1030. Great menu, had a giant bison burger and a nice cheese plate. It's amazing that you can walk around the amazing art museum with a cocktail . Really nice date night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Food was excellent !!
Menu choices small but diverse. Octopus was far better than I imagined . I had the scallops my partner had the Salmon . Both were prepared perfectly.The bar and wine list were the best I found in Louisville. Service was good. .
Very interesting unusual artwork. Easy to locate on Main street just look for the giant gold statue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Scallops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food was great and prepared correctly. The Fried Octopus was amazing as was the Meat Variety appetizer. Great service. Eat outdoors if the weather allows.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Limited Menu Delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The menu for both dinner and breakfast is quite limited, but for dinner it delivered. The funky theme of the 21c Hotel carries through to the restaurant, with interesting artwork all over the place. The ricotta appetizer was the best thing I ate all night. The entree menu was limited, as I don't really eat pork, and thus, I went with a steak, which was overcooked.

For breakfast, $10 for lox and bagel is pretty steep for what it was. We went elsewhere our second morning. I guess that says it all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proof on Main also viewed

Louisville, KY
 

Been to Proof on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proof on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.