We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Night's Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jeffersonville, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night's Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed there for our 20th Anniversary. Made reservation that allowed room upgrades if available. Checked on hotel 2 nights before and was told it was sold out, so I didn't expect an upgrade. But when we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to get one of their rooms with an outside deck.

Room was great, very spacious, modern, comfortable. Great downtown location.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    124
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
82
328
39
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My wife and I have stayed several places across America and other countries but we've never stayed somewhere that the people were so nice and helpful. The Hotel and the rooms were amazing as well as the Art. If you go you have to eat at Proof on Main, the food is as great as the Art in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massapequa, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

You need to stay here. Great place.. Amazing Bar and restaurant.
I took many groups through 21C hotel for business and I have not had any bad feedback or issues. We have had exceptional service and dealt with hotel employees that have went above and for us. I am truely thankful and appreciative that we have stayed at this hotel for the past few years. If in louisville.. you must stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I have traveled to 21c twice now and had exceptional experiences both times. The concept of mixing modern art into the hotel design is refreshing. We loved the easy access to Proof, a most memorable "farm to table" restaurant. The location is perfect for doign business downtown. Try this place...you won't forget it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I recently attended the Idea Festival and stayed overnight at 21C with my son. It was the second time I've stayed at this hotel. While I've been to two other hotels in downtown Louisville, this is by far the best and most unique one around. The rooms are equipped with sleek modern fixtures, a flat screen TV, and an in-room IPod. The bathroom was nice, the shower strong, with Malin+Goetz toiletries. The staff is friendly and customer-service oriented: they called the room after check-in to see how it was going. Downstairs and off the lobby entrance are modern art exhibits in a variety of styles; the restaurant Proof on Main is also housed in the same building with a mixture of standard and eclectic fare (buffalo, roasted bone marrow). We ate at Proof and weren't surprised to find out later at the Anthony Bourdain lecture (Travel Channel - No Reservations) that he'd eaten there too. Business & leisure travel land me in numerous hotels during the year and this is my favorite by far - it's just a fun place to be. I'd have to think hard to find anything to complain about (Oh yeah, it took me a few minutes to figure out how to work the in-room coffee maker - that's it.) I tell everyone I know to check this place out if they're ever in Louisville.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I recently visit Louisville for a concert and called my old friend from Louisville about where to stay for the weekend. Without hesitation, she mentioned 21 C and I'm so glad she did. Located right in the middle of downtown Louisville, it was the perfect place to relax and hangout both before and after the show. As soon as you walk in, it offers amazing contemporary art along with the best concierage and valet staff of any hotel that I have visited. If you have a little extra to spend, go ahead a get a suite or better. 21 C wil definately be the only place I'll stay in future visits to Louisville.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Occasion was romantic getaway with wife, asked front desk folks to play along and pretend to provide us a tour of a room, the room was our room I had booked without my wife's awareness. This is a tough request that not very many typical staff could pull off, 21c staff pulled it off with style. Thank you.

Room was nice (fun) but still had room to to push it decorations, still a little more over the top.

Dinner on Proof on Main was also a nice compliment to the evening. Having access to Mueseum / art was also nice touch.

Overall, a very good experience...we have given gift card to friends so they can also experience a good time and good experience. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#8 Business Hotel in Louisville
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.