We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your normal, boring hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Louisville
1 review
“Not your normal, boring hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a great hotel. Like the contemporary art which adorns the halls it has a crisp, unpretentious, yet new and exciting feel. Small and comfortable they got everything right from the time we dropped off our car at the valet until we picked it up again. Great bar, great food, and great people.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello David,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at 21c Louisville. We are glad to hear that you found our accommodations to be luxurious yet comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    124
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
81
322
38
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great hotel and great experience. If you stay, ask for a room that does not face the main street. We were in a very nice room but the noise in the early morning made it other than an optimal experiance

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarka T, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello JTR1117, thank you for sharing your experience with us, both the good and the bad. I’m thrilled to hear you loved the hotel and the guestroom, however not the location of the guestroom. We would love another opportunity to knock your socks off. Please don't hesitate to reach out should your travels bring you back to Louisville; I'm confident we have the perfect room for you. Thank you again for the invaluable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel incorporates modern art into everything... and it's very fun! The art includes paintings, sculptures and videos. It encompasses every part of the hotel, the gallery spaces, the hotel lobby and hallways, the elevator and even the public rest rooms and hotel limo. (We didn't take the limo anywhere, but it is very noticeable sitting outside the entrance!) We also took an art tour shortly after arrival. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and made the art that much more interesting. The hotel room itself was a little more typical of an upscale hotel room (probably the least artsy part of the experience), but extremely well maintained and comfortable... again, everything you would expect from an upscale hotel room. We had a room facing the interior of the hotel. Initially, I wasn't excited about an interior view, but it was very unique.. sort of an artsy view of interior brick walls and a skylight letting in natural light. We definitely enjoyed the hotel and will definitely stay again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello awwastl,
Thank you for staying at 21c Museum Hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations as well as the guided docent tour through our museum galleries. We look forward to welcoming you back to 21c in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Excellent location, very unique hotel, very good spa, very friendly staff, spacious rooms 5 star, modern art, can spend hours enjoying the galleries and pictures all over, great achitecture and very close to many other famous attractions like ky derby, museums and malls.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Dhameja,
Thank you for your review about your stay at 21c Louisville. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is my favorite hotel in Louisville. Unique experience, large/comfortable rooms, interesting art and a great vibe. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is outstanding with a nice selection of local foods. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello AR987,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to 21c Louisville. We are glad to hear that you found the museum to be interesting and that you found our team to be hospitable. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The art is eclectic. The statues of children in the lobby are borderline child porn and really not comfortable particularly right at the check-in/out. And I am al Lover of modern Art. Restaurant service was ridiculously slow, inaccurate and not at all informed about the Kentucky elements ( eg bourbons to pair, produce, cheese).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarka T, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello Tracy M S, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are very important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. 21c Museum Hotel's goal is to make contemporary art assessible to the public and to provoke thought and discussion. Our intent is not to offend.
The Exhibit behind the reception desk at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville are four sculptures by Judy Fox. The meticulously painted hand modeled terra cotta originals and the casting of those originals combines both idealized and generalized features of children-much in the way that heroic tales reflect a mixture of fact and fiction.
Within these bodies, each rendered meticulously after a particular model, the spirit of individuals press against the confines of the iconic roles they perform. It is up to viewers to make sense of these conflicts, and to reconcile them with their own responses to the figures that confront them, naked and exposed.
I'm very sorry we did not meet your expectations in all areas. Your invaluable feedback has been helpful in determining where we dropped the ball and it helps us to improve our services.
As our art changes regularly and I hope that you might consider visiting us in the future, as our next exhibition may speak to you in a very different way. And we hope we will be able to welcome you back.
Sincerely, Sarka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Great access to downtown and it is loaded with cool art! Great bar downstairs as we'll right off the Main Street. Huge golden statue of David outside as well. Very cool hotel and a very cool atmosphere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Anderson,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at 21c Louisville. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the art and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.