We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was in Lousiville for work and 21c is only a couple of blocks from the office. What a great place! So much to look at. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. They suggested some wonderful restaurants to try. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Samantha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at 21c during your business trip to Louisville. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    121
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
319
38
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

You know you're in for a treat the moment you walk into this hotel. This is the second time that I've stayed at this hotel, and both times I've been very impressed. The hotel seems to understand that art should be beautiful, interesting...and playful. I was impressed with how good all of the art on display is, but also with how they integrate it into the design of the hotel. It makes the art approachable, giving the hotel and elegant feel without making the art seem stuffy or distant.

The rooms are nice. They're decorated well and there's room for a king size bed and a desk. The bathrooms have a shower with unique bath products.

The restaurant and bar are like the rest of the hotel. They have an hip and elegant, yet approachable, feel. The bar can mix up a variety of craft cocktails, and they also have a decent bourbon menu. The restaurant is a comfortable place to dine, and the menu is good, featuring food that had some creative thought put into it.

The hotel also features a gallery downstairs, which has an excellent display of contemporary art, making it truly a museum hotel.

The hotel's location is in the heart of downtown Louisville. This area doesn't seem to be heavily populated, but there are a number of unique, independent businesses which have popped up in the area. This seems to fit in perfectly with the vibe of 21c.

Overall, I would say that I was happy staying at a hotel that impressed me the second time I stayed there as much as the first. It's one of the more memorable experiences I have ever had in a hotel, and will make for a good memory if you're looking for something very unique.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi Seamonkeee,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy to hear that you found us to be a true "museum hotel." We loved that you were impressed by 21c each time you visited, and we hope to continue to do so! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was a really fun place to stay in Louisville. The staff was exceptionally nice and accommodating. They seemed to really care about you and wanted you to enjoy yourself. Very clean comfortable rooms, nice amenities, comfortable beds. My husband had great fun with the penguins. Loved the idea of the hotel being an art museum. Very very cool installations. Go see the public bathrooms on the first floor!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello h0lly99,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at 21c Louisville! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

When booking a hotel for our stay, 21c looked interesting, but the rates were so high, I could not imagine paying that much for anything without a balcony and view of South Beach, but after dining at their restaurant, Proof on Main, we went through the lobby and large museum on the lower level. FANTASTIC, a must see for contemporary art lovers. So this is to say we are sorry and do not let the same happen to you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear HelloJoeOne,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to 21c. We are glad you enjoyed Proof on Main and the museum galleries! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Here to visit the GE Factory and they put us up at this hotel. The visit to the art gallery and multiple sculptures throughout and around the hotel alone are worth the stay. Great service, amenities, beautiful bar and restaurant, not to mention proximity to cool areas of Louisville are all the norm here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at 21c. We are glad to hear that you discovered 21c on a business trip! We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ok, here's the rub. I noticed that I tend to give 4 and 5 stars on trip advisor, with the occasional 3 when things go awry. Now I wish I could revise my ratings to rank all my previous ones down one notch, or add a 6th star for this hotel. Upon a friend's recommendation, we booked the hotel for a spontaneous trip we decided to make to Louisville from Indianapolis (a 2 hour drive). Surprisingly, we got a room even tho it was the 4th of July holiday. Having just vacationed in Copenhagen, the Louisville prices seemed quite reasonable by comparison, and my friend told us we were in for a treat. She was not mistaken. Every one of the hotel staff, from the check in desk to the valets to the restaurant workers were friendly, helpful, and possessed the right amount of professionalism mixed with Southern charm. The hotel is on Main Street, with easy walking access to the river and to restaurants and sights in downtown Louisville, which seems to be in the midst of a real revival/upgrade. It's a bit of a longer hike to the trendy NuLu, but do-able if you have the time and good walking shoes. We did the Evan Williams Bourbon Distillery Speakeasy tour just down the street and went to Heine coffee shop which is steps away from the hotel. Both well worth visiting. But back to my thoughts on 21c -- the museum that takes up the below ground floor is fantastic, and the works of art spill up into the lobby and all of the upper floors of the hotel. This is contemporary and interactive art, and is well curated and placed. I asked about the prevalence of the 4 ft tall recycled plastic red penguins that seemed to waddle about in the night, showing up in odd places, and was told that they are the "mascot" of the hotel. There are even red penguins on the top of the building, peering over as if to watch the humans scurry about on Main. I guess the owners fell in love with them at an art show in Italy and brought them home to Kentucky to become a part of 21c. Charming. Our room was spacious, warm and modern. Individually controlled heat/ac, great linens, fabulous side chairs, work desk, minibar, coffee/tea maker, roomy contemporary bathroom with abundant fluffy towels. The bed was perfect, the choice of different types of pillows a nice touch, and everything was very clean. We comfortably watched some of the World Cup soccer games from the big flat screen in the room, and in between doing the touristy things outside we took our time browsing the on-site museum. Everything was convenient and first class in an understated and relaxed way. For example, the in room robes are soft and absorbent, the turn down service closes your blinds and leaves a small chocolate treat on the bed, the extra blanket in the closet is perfect for napping, the wifi worked great. I was surprised to see a "pet inside" tag which you could hang on your door if you decided to vacate for a moment, leaving your dog in the room. They do ask that if you will be leaving your pet inside the room for any real length of time that you make sure the front desk knows in case there are any issues, and they do not (thankfully) tolerate the incessant barking of an anxious dog left behind. I love that the hotel is dog friendly, and altho our dog is not a "pet", (he's a service dog), it was really easy to bring our Golden along. We ate twice at the restaurant in the hotel (Proof) and can attest to the wonderful presentation and tastes. I've been to fine European hotels, Las Vegas suites, and resorts all over the world, and 21c ranks among my favorites. Kudos to you 21c -- this is hospitality done right.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi AdventuresWithMary,
Thank you for the lovely review! We are thrilled that you had such a good time in Louisville and at our hotel! We hope that you will be able to visit our sister properties in Cincinnati and Bentonville--we think you'll enjoy them, too. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice. The museum adds character and a unique experience. The staff were all wonderfully friendly and helpful. The room, however, perhaps because it faced the atrium and received no natural light was kind of depressing and shabby. My fiancee loved the place and the stay but I wasn't blown away. I didn't think the room we stayed in had a warm and inviting feel to it. It was kind of cold and uninviting. Additionally, because atrium rooms face straight into other rooms we had to keep the blinds and curtains drawn. It just made me want to spend as little time as possible inside the room. The towels were great though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural light, not one facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Julia, thank you for sharing your experience. I’m delighted you enjoyed our personable staff and incredibly soft towels, but I’m very sorry your guestroom failed to exceed your expectations. With multiple room types from which to choose, I’m confident we can find the perfect room for you and your fiancé should your travels bring you to Louisville, Cincinnati or Bentonville. Please don’t hesitate to speak to one of our reservation agents; we’d love to customize your stay from start to finish. Thanks again for the invaluable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.