We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience at the 21C Museum Hotel - superb staff, beautiful art, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
21c Dynamic Packages
Ranked #3 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at the 21C Museum Hotel - superb staff, beautiful art, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The 21C Museum Hotel in Louisville is simply excellent for business travelers.

From the time that you stop at the curb, check in, eat a meal and check out, the hotel staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

The hotel has $5M of contemporary art - along the walls, on the lounge bar, in the elevator. The 21C gives you a refreshing and interactive experience unlike other luxury hotels. The museum was open 24 hours...

The rooms are well appointed with all of the little things that make the stay comfortable and worthwhile. More soft, fluffy white towels than one person could possibly use -- Nespresso machine -- bottled water -- two GOOD robes -- lots of electrical plug-ins on the desk. Stay on an upper floor for peace and quiet. You deserve it.

The food was incredibly tasty and the bourbon was even better (try the flight). We had a business meal in the restaurant and the waitstaff was attentive. Try the gourmet grilled cheese sandwich (heaven, seriously!) or the salmon or the buffalo burger (organic, locally sourced, de-lish). No one left hungry and the prices were so reasonable.

This hotel is meant to be appreciated and I plan to stay again the next time that I visit Louisville.

I choose places to stay based on tripadvisor reviews and write about my experience so that others will know the truth. Traveling is expensive and people need fair and honest information. If my review was helpful, then let me know so that I am motivated to help others again. The 21C Museum Hotel did not disappoint!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello IMAbbyNormal,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your visit to 21c Louisville. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom amenities, the contemporary art galleries and Proof on Main. We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    111
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
70
284
36
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you are trying to rest during the day, I dont recommend this hotel, sorry, but it is cool and artsey, but noisy.
My room was on the back alley, first thing in the morning, a garbage truck is right out side my window taking care of the large dumpster, during the rest of the day various trades use the alley to park and drop off goods.
Talking to others in my group, their rooms that over looked Main street were also noisy
Plus for a building with brick walls, you can hear everything going on in the nearby rooms
I am not sure why hotel staff seems to think hanging out in the hallways and talking is a good thing.
I think the inside atrium rooms would be the way to go if you want to rest during the day, except house keeping has storage areas at the end of the hallways and go back and forth to them all day long.
Sorry 21C, but your not for me

Room Tip: stay away from rooms on the second floor, get as high up as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Sirsmokeyjoe,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is our goal to provide you with a comfortable stay; clearly we missed the mark. We have utilized your feedback to retrain our teams to ensure the issues are isolated.

We would love another opportunity to knock your socks off. Please don't hesitate to reach out should your travels bring you back to Louisville; I'm confident we have the perfect room for you. Thank you again for the invaluable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

While I've stayed at the 21c before, my husband and I were blown away about how accommodating and helpful the staff were. Check-in was not until 4pm but we arrived at noon and they immediately got us set up in our room and then walked us through a few running and walking maps of Louisville. They pointed out their favorite spots in NuLu.

After having a late night, we called at 10am asking if we could delay check-out until noon. They bested that by asking if we we prefer 1 instead. We were trilled! And the bed was SUPER COMFORTABLE!

My only complaint is the bathroom lighting. It's HORRIBLE for putting on make-up. I understand that the lighting is to keep with the modern aesthetic but I'd recommend they have the small lighted dual-sided mirrors available to use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Amy,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at 21c Louisville. We are glad to hear that you found our team to be helpful and accommodating. It sounds like you were able to explore downtown Louisville and the Nulu neighborhood--we hope you enjoyed seeing a little bit what Louisville has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at 21c for a weekend wedding. Having been to Louisville several times before and not being impressed with really first class accommodations in Louisville (in spite of Tripadvisor reviews) we were really pleasantly surprised. From the moment that we valet parked our car (each valet was personable and fun) to check-in (front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable) to our spacious and perfectly kept room we were impressed. And of course the art!! It seemed that every place that we turned there were whimsical pieces that made us smile. The art gallery downstairs is a perfect size. We didn't get bored or get sore feet. And location wise it's really easy to get to and only a block from the Ohio River. Lastly, the hotel restaurant is excellent --- but that's for another review.

We would definitely recommend 21c to anyone coming to Louisville. It's the best in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello Travelmaven64,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review about your visit to 21c Louisville. It sounds like you took advantage of everything our property has to offer from the museum to the restaurant to our location in downtown Louisville. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Suggest you book rooms at higher floor - 4th is highest. Also, request rooms 410 thru 414 - or any room that fronts Main St or Seventh Ave. Very large rooms and spacious. These rooms provide very large windows with lots of light. Those rooms facing the Atrium are very dark and only one small window. Bathrooms could be larger and recommend that any new hotels being built (of which there are five under construction) do away with the tub and have a walk-in shower. A hotel of this caliber and price range needs to get away from the "tub and shower" combo with a plastic curtain. Amenities in room are top notch. Be ready to have the Housekeeping department knock on your door early, seems that management wants all rooms cleaned by 11 in morning - so if planning on sleeping in or leisurely morning, better let management know. All employees are cordial and well informed of area attractions and hotel art. The art and sculptor works found within the hotel rival any museum or art gallery - spent over two hours simply browsing the art.

Room Tip: High floor facing either Main St or Seventh Ave - stay away from all Atrium view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello Henry,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about you visit to 21c Louisville. I'm glad you enjoyed your Luxury Guestroom overlooking Main Street! Because our property was five buildings renovated into one, each room is a little different in its architectural features. We hope to see you again soon, and would love to see you at our properties in Cincinnati and Bentonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Classy, elegant, great art! I went with my daughter, son-in-law, and four year old granddaughter. There were several fun things that captured my granddaughter's fascination; the image of the sleeping couple on the lobby floor, (she had to lay down between the couple),the falling letters by the elevators, the round smoke billow things, the music playing in the gallery, some of the art, the pigeon, and, of course, the red penguins. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. the bath towels are big, soft, fluffy and smell good (not cheap, scratchy, and smelling of bleach). My granddaughter thought we should go ahead and live there. Rooms made for tall people. We liked that too. Great down town location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi KYQuilter,
We love hearing that you and your family had such a good time during your stay with us. I'm glad that you mentioned "Sleepers"--this artwork is so much fun to experience! Be sure to visit our properties in Cincinnati and Bentonville--I think you'll enjoy their museums and guestroom amenities, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We liked the museum addition to the hotel. Not sure about the red penguin but found it cute and fun to have them on the room floors to move around. We found parking in the garage 1/2 block from hotel a money saver than valeting for $25. We stayed in the second floor above Proof...it was noisy to stay that close. Overall, a nice stay and staff pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello Wonderlust1012,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at 21c. We are happy to hear that you found our team members to be pleasant and that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Business Hotel in Louisville
#3 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.