We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the hotel is the experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
“Where the hotel is the experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

After a day of travel, and just a short time in Louisville possible, the 21C Museum Hotel made Louisville a memorable experience! The art gallery had a great variety of art that made one think of the messages of the artists, marvel at the technique and materials used, and appreciate the beauty, creativity, and uniqueness of the exhibits! That is all on top of friendly, helpful service, and an especially clean and comfy room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Nancy,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at 21c during your visit to Louisville. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    121
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
319
38
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The minute you walk inside you know this is not your typical hotel. In the lobby, I was surrounded by a large art display of a body with no head breaking hundreds of records, large plastic animals and huge photographs of gypsies. It was a refreshing change from the normal sterile lobbies I encounter often during my travels.
Check-in was fast and easy with a helpful staff member. My room was a good size, bed was comfy and clean. The bathroom was small but clean and had nice funky toiletries such as cilantro conditioner and rum body wash. I enjoyed my organic, vegan chocolates each night on my pillow. I would suggest asking for a room with a city view. Mine was a view of the middle of the hotel atrium which is basically just brick walls.

After check-in I went to the bar where they had a nice assortment of local beers and lots of interesting conversation about the crazy art such as the countdown clock to the owner's death. The gallery was great to check-out and even the stretched hotel limo outside was an art piece. We had a reception in the penthouse which had a lovely view of the city outside on the terrace and even more art. There were some pieces that were not "corporate friendly" but great conversation starters. We also had a group dinner in the gallery which was nice and the only negative I heard was one art video that showed a man struggling to eat with no hands which made some diners uncomfortable.
The restaurant was also very good for breakfast and lunch. The service was great, prices were reasonable for a hotel and food was great and had nice portions.
The plastic penguins throughout the hotel were a hit and they constantly ended up in new places like hotel rooms, elevators and I heard even a shower.
This hotel was a breath of fresh air for this very busy traveler. I would indeed stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Christine,
I loved your comment about our property being "a breath of fresh air." We strive to deliver a unique experience to our guests, and are glad to hear you enjoyed exploring the museum galleries, dining at Proof on Main, cocktailing in the Rooftop Apartment and resting in your comfortable bed. We hope you'll visit our sister properties in Cincinnati, Ohio and Bentonville, Arkansas as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel 21c in Louisville is also an art museum, and by that we mean modern art, with all the weirdness that implies. Or if you're the artsy type, it's delicious I suppose. The Louisville 21c is a reconditioned much older building and the rooms are the same size as a typical Holiday Inn, but they're well-furnished, like the luxury hotel it is should be. And although the art in the public areas is intense, don't look for it in the rooms. No doubt the "real stuff" is much to valuable to put anywhere but public areas--and they probably shouldn't trust the ordinary guest with it. After all, its Art, not decoration.

This was a business trip for me, with someone else paying for the room, but if I were a paying guest, I'd be very upset with the window that opened into an old-fashioned air shaft with a view of a wall. That's a bummer. So much for seeing anything of Louisville, at least from the hotel window.

The hotel chain, by the way, as giant (four foot tall?) plastic penguins of a different colors--Louisville's are red--that are light enough to be carried and perhaps placed in front of a colleague's door to greet him in the morning. It's an art museum kind of humor, I suppose.

But back to the art, it's really strange, with huge pictures of full frontal nude men. It might be wise to take somewhere where's a pool instead.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the air shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi 57rambler,
Thank you for providing feedback about your visit to 21c in Louisville. I'm glad to hear that you discovered 21c on a business trip and that you found our property to be unique. On your next visit, be sure to reserve a Luxury Guestroom--I think you will enjoy this room type with its windows facing over Seventh or Main Streets. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the 21c after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and talking with local business friends. I was looking for something different than my normal chain hotel, and was CERTAINLY not disappointed. From the foundation to the roof, the 21c is memorable in oh so many good ways. It's more or less a hotel in an art gallery. The mix of art, as well as the hotels patrons speak to it's style, taste and eclectic blend of what's happening now, in Louisville. Worth the extra money, and if nothing else, a trip to the bar, where beautiful people mix with beautiful art. Next trip, I am bringing more fashionable clothes!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello LottaTravelinMan,
We are so glad to hear that you decided to give 21c a try during your business trip to Louisville! It sounds like you enjoyed your time at our hotel, museum and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We didn't stay in a room- I can only imagine what those are like. But the collection downstairs is a worthwhile destination even if you are just passing through. Featuring a broad sampling of contemporary media ranging from straight photography to outdoor installations, you never feel crowded. Take it in and be enriched. Go in at the bar, and walk through. The people at the door are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello FatNickelJazz,
Thank you for visiting 21c Museum. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed the gallery spaces and the current exhibitions. Please check back soon as the art will be changing for Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersery
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived here in the middle of a snow/sleet storm last week. All things in the area were shutting down or shut down. Which was really disappointing, because it seems like a pretty area close to the water. I have never been to Louisville before and because of all of the good reviews we were excited to see this place. We ended up having to valet park in their parking garage because the weather was hideous. It was $25 a night to park with their valet. I personally think that was a little over priced, there was lots right down the street that was cheaper, but again because of the weather we didn't want to venture too far off. When we entered the hotel/museum I have to say it was pretty cool. It definitely did not feel like a hotel, it looked and felt like a museum. There was one woman sitting at a desk who checked us in. It was just a typical desk, which I thought really added to the environment. The art work on display was pretty modern, you could wander around and enjoy the works of art or use your room key and head up to your room. We checked into our room on the 4th floor (only 4 floors in the hotel) and it had a brick wall and some modern art and an inside view of the museum. The vibe was very bohemian chic, the bath had modern amenities and very nice great smelling bath products. (The soap was a rum flavored or a cilantro flavor. Loved them!) The room had a FULLY loaded fridge with everything you could imagine in it, the only thing with that is it weighted. So if you drop something or take something out to check it out you get charged, but the hotel was very quick to take off the charges for things we didn't buy. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding felt very lux and soft. We only were here for 2 days but we were very happy with our room. How often can you say you slept in a museum? My only complaint if it was even that was the valet price, the staff was very pleasant, it was very clean I would not say it was a 5 star hotel I would say a solid 4 or even 4.5 level. I would def visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Mandy,
Thank you for visiting Louisville to checkout 21c Museum Hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed exploring the museum, and found your guestroom accommodations & amenities to be clean, comfortable and modern. We would love to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a trip to Louisville and stayed at 21c. The collection in house was terrific- be sure to tour it all!, in house dining was very impressive. Valet staff was very helpful with parking.

We would definitely return, great vibe and energy in total.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi RFPMPLS,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your experience at 21c. We are happy to hear that you had a good time touring the museum galleries and dining at Proof On Main. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
#6 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Jetsetter, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.