We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the 21c after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and talking with local business friends. I was looking for something different than my normal chain hotel, and was CERTAINLY not disappointed. From the foundation to the roof, the 21c is memorable in oh so many good ways. It's more or less a hotel in an art gallery. The mix of art, as well as the hotels patrons speak to it's style, taste and eclectic blend of what's happening now, in Louisville. Worth the extra money, and if nothing else, a trip to the bar, where beautiful people mix with beautiful art. Next trip, I am bringing more fashionable clothes!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello LottaTravelinMan,
We are so glad to hear that you decided to give 21c a try during your business trip to Louisville! It sounds like you enjoyed your time at our hotel, museum and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    124
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
81
322
38
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We didn't stay in a room- I can only imagine what those are like. But the collection downstairs is a worthwhile destination even if you are just passing through. Featuring a broad sampling of contemporary media ranging from straight photography to outdoor installations, you never feel crowded. Take it in and be enriched. Go in at the bar, and walk through. The people at the door are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello FatNickelJazz,
Thank you for visiting 21c Museum. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed the gallery spaces and the current exhibitions. Please check back soon as the art will be changing for Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersery
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived here in the middle of a snow/sleet storm last week. All things in the area were shutting down or shut down. Which was really disappointing, because it seems like a pretty area close to the water. I have never been to Louisville before and because of all of the good reviews we were excited to see this place. We ended up having to valet park in their parking garage because the weather was hideous. It was $25 a night to park with their valet. I personally think that was a little over priced, there was lots right down the street that was cheaper, but again because of the weather we didn't want to venture too far off. When we entered the hotel/museum I have to say it was pretty cool. It definitely did not feel like a hotel, it looked and felt like a museum. There was one woman sitting at a desk who checked us in. It was just a typical desk, which I thought really added to the environment. The art work on display was pretty modern, you could wander around and enjoy the works of art or use your room key and head up to your room. We checked into our room on the 4th floor (only 4 floors in the hotel) and it had a brick wall and some modern art and an inside view of the museum. The vibe was very bohemian chic, the bath had modern amenities and very nice great smelling bath products. (The soap was a rum flavored or a cilantro flavor. Loved them!) The room had a FULLY loaded fridge with everything you could imagine in it, the only thing with that is it weighted. So if you drop something or take something out to check it out you get charged, but the hotel was very quick to take off the charges for things we didn't buy. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding felt very lux and soft. We only were here for 2 days but we were very happy with our room. How often can you say you slept in a museum? My only complaint if it was even that was the valet price, the staff was very pleasant, it was very clean I would not say it was a 5 star hotel I would say a solid 4 or even 4.5 level. I would def visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Mandy,
Thank you for visiting Louisville to checkout 21c Museum Hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed exploring the museum, and found your guestroom accommodations & amenities to be clean, comfortable and modern. We would love to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a trip to Louisville and stayed at 21c. The collection in house was terrific- be sure to tour it all!, in house dining was very impressive. Valet staff was very helpful with parking.

We would definitely return, great vibe and energy in total.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi RFPMPLS,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your experience at 21c. We are happy to hear that you had a good time touring the museum galleries and dining at Proof On Main. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in the King Suite which photos online show a spacious room with art work. The description online also states room contains "original art".

The room featured blue wallpaper with flies and no other art work. Blank walls and a bed with a brown, blank cork board. When the front desk manager was questioned, she stated that there should have been one small picture in the room (not there) and that the rooms do not typically contain original art (website states rooms will have art). We were told that occasionally there will be a poster.

The TV did not work properly. The programs were blocky and we were missing the one channel we wanted to watch due to poor reception. Management offered to let us visit a room 2 doors down to watch TV.

The room darkening shades would not lower fully and light flooded the room all night.

The following morning we discussed our experience with the manager on duty and we were offered a smaller room at that listed price. No other compensation was offered. We checked and stayed at The Brown.

Bottom line-The room was large, but not worth $300+. Nothing special.

View the art in the museum and eat in the restaurant. Skip the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Globetrottingma, thank you for sharing your comments; I'm very sorry we failed to meet your expectations. I'm particularly disappointed as we have extensive preventative maintenance and strict inspection procedures in place to ensure all guests experience our property without the issues you described. Clearly, we missed the mark.

I am using your invaluable feedback as an opportunity for immediate retraining for all teams. We would love another opportunity to knock your socks off and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I took a quick 36-hour getaway to Louisville this weekend and stayed at the 21c Museum Hotel. First, the pros: it has an excellent restaurant and bar (Proof on Main) - we enjoyed great cocktails and an enjoyable breakfast; the art museum within the hotel is truly impressive and worth a visit even if you aren't staying in the hotel; great location near a number of museums (e.g., Louisville Slugger Factory and Musuem; the Frazier Musuem); and excellent customer service.
Second, the cons: we stayed in the suite called "Asleep in the Cyclone." This offerred a unique hotel experience as the room is decked in '60s decor with a stain glass-inspired ceiling. I quickly grew tired of the room do it its insufficient lighting (I enjoy ambient, romatic lighting but this was very cave-like. Too cave-like). There is absolutely no natural lighting, which is evident in the pictures on the website. Potential guests should give consideration to whether this would impact your stay. Also, and most signifcantly, there is a lot of noise pollution. The room is a near the maintenance and service area of the hotel, and foot traffic, garbage cans, etc. can easily be heard. Also, steps overhead in the lobby (it is essentially in the basement of the hotel) can also be heard throughout the night. While I'm sure the other rooms are spectacular, I can only speak to my experience in this suite, which I would not stay in again. Notwithstanding, the hotel is certainly worth visiting!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Katie, thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback.

I'm delighted you enjoyed the carefully curated exhibition of contemporary art, creative cuisine at Proof on Main, and genuine Southern hospitality of our hotel staff. However, I'm disappointed that your room did not exceed your expectations. Asleep in the Cyclone, a site-specific sculptural installation by New York-based artists Jonah Freeman and Justin Lowe, offers a completely immersive art experience and overnight stay. The artists specified the lighting level, but we have supplementary lamps available for those that require additional light. Clearly, we failed to communicate this option to you; I'm terribly sorry. Because your comfort is our highest priority, we take great strides to keep the peace around all guest rooms. I apologize for the disruption- we missed the mark.

Thank you again for your comments as they are crucial to our success. I hope you will consider staying with us again. Please don't hesitate to choose Asleep in the Cyclone; I'm confident we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Spent one night at the 21c on a long weekend with my husband. We were impressed from the time we checked in with an upgrade to a corner suite. The restaurant within the hotel serves simple fresh drinks and has a great wine list. The museum us open for 24 hours and has interesting modern art installations. Overall, an excellent experience. Would for sure stay again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at 21c. It seems that you were able to experience each aspect of our property from the guestroom accommodations to the museum galleries and Proof on Main. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.