We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic art, restaurant and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Louisville to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic art, restaurant and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

All and all, I really loved the creativity and tone of 21c Museum Hotel. The art was fantastic and the grab-and-go gift shop had a great blend of practical and whimsical gift items. I also thought the interactive projection by the elevator was clever and fun. The staff was warm, friendly and exceptionally accommodating with directions, making reservations and giving professional advice. We enjoyed a lovely snack at Proof then a glass of wine and fantastic chocolate torte at the bar. Both bartenders were lively, entertaining and had great recommendations. The room, however, was a little disappointing for the price. The mattresses, pillows and bedding, in particular were not comfortable. The night we stayed, there was construction going on outside of the hotel, so we hardly slept at all. My only other complaint was the lack of a full-service spa on-site. Otherwise, great concept, fantastic staff and restaurant.

Room Tip: Beware that there is a room in the basement. Our friend was placed in it and it is a conference roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    121
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
319
38
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashvile, TN- Home of the Titans!
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The art and "cool" atmosphere is only eclipsed by the over the top service!! We were late arriving and greeted by name at the curb when we Valet parked our car. We were given the front tour including the award winning restroom! I was traveling with two teenage girls and their Facebook status both said the "coolest hotel in the world!" There is so much to experience allow at least a couple of hours to experience the gallery and breakfast at Proof on Main on site was reasonably priced and as wonderful and unique as the hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently I attended a business conference in Louisville, KY. One of the hotel options was 21c Museum Hotel. I had seen articles and news stories on the unique hotel/museum and knew I wanted to stay there. I'm glad I did.

While the lobby and gallery space was exactly what I expected, I was delightfully surprised by the room.

It was a nice sized room with a king bed, desk, and small sitting area. It had all the comforts of any upscale room, with whimsical little additions. The artwork was a bonus, as was the excellent customer service.

When I'm in Louisville again, I will definitely stay at the 21C Museum Hotel again. In fact, I keep looking for a reason to go back.

Beware of the red penguins. They're everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If 21C were located in NYC or LA or Miami, room rates would be three times higher, and you'd certainly have to subtract the Southern hospitality. And few hotels are home to an outstanding bar (more on that in a sec) and a restaurant so good you may eat there every day of your stay neglect the rest of Louisville's impressive dining scene. 21C's permanent gallery and art installations are always intriguing, from the cascading letters (Text Rain) interactive installation at the elevators to the cloud rings in the courtyard. (To say nothing of the men's bathroom surprise). Rooms are spacious, with warm old brick and more art; bathrooms have Malin + Goetz amenities and a rubber ducky; and details big and small (free Wi-Fi, Tcho chocolates on your pillow, and -- gasp -- a fun and affordable mini-bar) are not overlooked. The young staff is friendly and super-casual, but scrupulously attentive. Now, about that bar and restaurant, Proof on Main: yes, this is the place to order bourbon, but don't miss craft beer as well as farm-to-table dishes using local products: Kentucky bison tartare, rye pasta carbonara, ricotta gnocchi, to name a few recent menu items. Really a splendid experience.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Main Street have more picturesque views (A giant gilded David on a recent stay), but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

21c Museum Hotel is the most interesting idea for a hotel. The first floor is a contemperty museum with a very popular bar and hip restaurant. Help was the friendliest no matter their station. Guests were fun and fashionable. The art created a buzz amoung the visitors-not to mention the mysterious plastic penguin who "roams" the hotel. We had a beautiful view of the river and stately old downtown buildings.

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I don't usually stay at 4 star places like this, but split the room with 2 friends so it was worth it. :) In our first room, one of the beds was saggy in the middle. I also don't like to make a big deal out of those things, but I figured for the money, I should say something and called the front desk. The staff immediately offered us another room and a bellhop was at our room within minutes to collect our luggage. It was a seamless transition and they even brought us something that we had left behind in the first room.

The art museum, lobby and bar are really well designed and make the hotel an attraction in itself. We had drinks at the bar (and you can walk around the museum with them too...yay!) and breakfast at the restaurant. Prices are on the high side, but coming from NYC, they were not unreasonable.

Also...true confession: I may have left with more than my fair share of Malin + Goetz samples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visit Louisville often but this was the first time that we stayed at the 21C Museum Hotel. This hotel is a renovation of an old Louisville building on West Main St. I love how this modern hotel has maintained the charm of the old building. Most of my expectations were met or exceeded during this trip. When we checked in, one of the iconic red penguins was right outside our door. The next morning, it was down the hall. Love it! Our room was small, but it was very comfortable (especially the bed) and had a view of West Main Street. There were tall ceilings and windows and exposed brick. The bathroom had a zen décor with a large, flat sink and a shelf for toiletries, but no counter space. There was also a small closet. Good shower though. I think that it was designed more for the business traveler and certainly not those of us that travel heavy. Even so, compared to all of the other higher-end hotels that are downtown, the overall atmosphere makes the 21C my favorite. The hotel staff that we encountered appeared to be quite young (which is usually not a positive) but we didn’t require any special attention so it wasn’t an issue.

We didn’t tour the hotel museum during our stay but we had drinks at the Proof bar. It isn’t as crowded as it was in the past since there are other new places close to the hotel (St Charles Exchange Bar across the street!) Many other restaurants, galleries and bars and the Ohio River are within walking distance. It is right next to the Louisville Slugger Museum and Factory and the Muhammad Ali Center. Also the YUM! Center is not that far down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
#6 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21c Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night – it's a 90-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Jetsetter, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.