We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Market Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WOW !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What an absolutely wonderful stay here. Everything, I mean everything was perfect, thats hard to do. I was really impressed by the consistency of the staff, all of them were super friendly, always smiling and ready to meet any request. Always fresh coffee and a different fruit in the ice water every day by the front desk was a nice touch in July. Pool area was very nice, although indoors, for a downtown hotel location. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was very nicely appointed, and comfortable in every way. 2 full separate bathrooms was a nice feature as well. I will definitely seek out this brand in the future now! My only wish was for a comfortable outdoor space at the hotel, although the lobby was very very plush and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS1850, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
WOW!
This is the reason my staff and I get up and come to work. Thatnk you so much for your kind words. This is what we strive for to not only meet, but to exceed our guest expectations. My staff will be so excited to hear what you thought of our property and our team.

Warm Regards,

Mark Kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    36
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
25
1
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fordsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were in Louisville for a convention at the International Conference, and we chose the Residence Inn because we would have a full kitchen and could keep our small dog. However, we decided to leave the dog with family because of our schedule at the convention.

We had a studio unit, which included a queen bed, full kitchen with dishwasher and garbage disposal, ice-maker, and a queen sleeper in the living area. It was pleasantly decorated and in new-like condition. The kitchen had granite counter tops and stainless appliances, and was stocked with service for four. The bath was divided, the shower/tub combination in one room with the sink in the second room with the closet, located next to bedroom. The bed was comfortable, and we had plenty of pillows. The television was about a 40-inch flat screen that was located in a way that it could be rotated into the living area where the sectional sofa with chaise was located or into the bed area. the only thing that would have improved the experience would be to have two tvs so two people could watch different shows at the same time, but they would be back to back, and the sound would be a problem.

I forgot my toothbrush and toothpaste, and they were provided compliments of the hotel.

A full, hot breakfast was provided each morning from 6:30 to 9:30 weekdays and 7:00 to 10:00 on the weekend. The food never ran out. They continued to bring food throughout the morning, and it was crowded each day we were there. We stayed from Wednesday to Sunday. The eggs and bacon were delicious, as were the bagels, pancakes, and waffles. I particularly enjoyed the orange/guava juice. They also had orange, apple, and other juices, assorted cereals, donuts and pastries, sausage, boiled eggs, oatmean, etc., as well as coffee and tea and milk, both 2% and skim (my favorite).

We had thought parking would be $10 per night. However, it was complimentary. We were also able to leave our car in the indoor garage all week and even on Sunday after we had checked out and were not ready to leave Louisville downtown. We paid $99 per night at this location.

The staff went above and beyond to make our stay one of the best we have ever experienced. We travel at least half a dozen times per year, and this rates at the top of our travel experiences in places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS1850, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Mark Kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Ok soaybe not a diamond but this hotel is good in the fact that the staff is friendly, the place has been remodeled, the breakfast is more than adequate, the rooms are clean and have all the things you expect at a Residence Inn. The parking is also very convenient. BUT the neighborhood is funky with a capitol FUNK. I've lived in "changing" areas of Chicago and was surprised at the neighborhood. We were traveling with two families so for business persons it would be fine. As of July 2012 there is a construction site DIRECTLY across from the hotel so if you wish to sleep past 0630.... Good luck.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS1850, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at our property. I'm glad to here you thought we were clean and friendly.
I don't think our downtown area is as bad as it seems. We have the Slugger field baseball park right in our back yard and although alot of the buildings are older they are starting to be purchased and renovated In what we call the NULU district which has a lot of local vendors opening up coffee shops and eaterys. I hope to see you again in the near future so that we may have a chance to show you all of the city's hidden treasures.

Warm regards,

Mark kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, OH
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed there last Saturday for a fun weekend getaway in Louisville. We chose the hotel based on its close proximity to the Louisville Bats game and it was less than a five minute walk to the stadium. We drove to the Louisville Slugger Museum because we were headed out of town afterwards and we did walk to 4th street live. It was a bit of a hike in the 105 degree weather and the first few blocks are not the best part of town, but we had no trouble in day light. We would probably take a taxi if it were dark out.

The rooms are small but contained everything we needed and more. We had a one bedroom suite, which had a queen room in the bedroom and then in the main room our girls used the pull out sofa. The sofa is a more modern design with an L shape that had plenty of room for all 4 of us to sit on while we were cooling off before the game. The kitchen appeared to have everything you needed, we used it to store leftovers that we never ate...

The breakfast was your typical free hotel breakfast with make your own waffles, eggs, bacon, breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit and pastries. The hotel pool is rather small and when we stopped in it was so hot in there that just the room didn't seem refreshing enough to make my girls want to swim. There was also a lot of standing water on the pool deck, which made it quite slippery. The work out facilities looked great, although I forgot my gym shoes...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS1850, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm so glad to here you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was perfectly located for you to attend the bat's game.

Mark Kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a good, quiet, clean hotel. Parking is attached and is $10 per night. The area is a little on the seedy side but we were able to walk to the 4th Street Live area and back again late at night. We did not feel uncomfortable or unsafe. 4th Street Live is a very fun area with lots of activity. There is a White Castle along that walk back for a late night snack. Also there is a McDonald's across the street from the hotel. My husband used the fitness center, which was fine. Breakfast was very good with hot and cold items. Coffee and bananas are available all day. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. My staff and I are glad to hear that we left a nice enough impression on you that you remembered your stay from a year ago. We hope to see you again in the near future and as always thank you for your business!

Mark kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA-A-OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at this location a few years back but have just got around to writing this review. The rooms are fantastic. Almost like a mini apartment in their set up. Very clean and the amenities are everything you would need when traveling. You can walk to the ballpark just down the street. We walked to the entertainment district in downtown which I believe was on 6th St. It was about a mile walk but was fine since it was nice weather. A cab ride back was real cheap. Breakfast was good. Can't beat hot fresh cooked eggs in the morning. Definietly will be back when I head down to Louisville in the future. Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Mark Kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pros-

The breakfast buffet included with your stay is GREAT!
The kitchenette in the rooms is a great bonus!
The check in staff is super great!
The Parking garage that attaches to the hotel is so nice to have.
The water pressure in the shower is perfect!
They have Paul Mitchell products in the rooms- no cheap stuff :)
COMFY beds!

Cons-
The interstate is very close and it's pretty loud at night.
The part of town it's in isn't the greatest. We walked down to 4th street live ( a bit of a walk in the heat) but got a taxi back.

I would definitely go back! Nice place :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review of our hotel. I'm glad to here you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerly,

Mark Kirsch-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 333 East Market Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#24 Family Hotel in Louisville
#30 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Louisville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Louisville Downtown offers easy access to all the city has to offer - excellent shopping, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, free WiFi, plenty of workspace, and full kitchens with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. Our pet-friendly property also offers complimentary hot breakfast and an evening manager's reception, as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.