We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible meals!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z's Oyster Bar & Steak House

Z's Oyster Bar & Steak House
101 Whittington Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40222-4901 (Hurstbourne)
502-429-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Z's Oyster Bar & Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 1,517 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Hurstbourne
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to Z's Oyster Bar and Steak House last March on the suggestion of a hotel staff member .... AMAZING service - dress code is casual, yet the servicxe personnel are all dressed very nicely. The atmosphere is very relaxed with two large aquariums to watch in the main dining area. We had the spinach florentine the - plenty for two people and very rich. Also had the Walu - Hawaiian Butter Fish entree. I've never had fish of thatr type, and have been looking fo it when we returned to Las Vegas ever since!

Two weeks ago, we were back in the same hotel and returned to Z's ~ I again had the Walu, and my fiance had an incredible steak. Would definitely recommend tracking this restaurant down when you're in the Louisville/Jeffersontown area!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Freshest fish and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Dined on an off night early in the week. The service was outstanding. The fish served was the freshest I have experienced in Louisville. As others have said the restaurant is in a business complex and not stunning from the outside but the interior is unique with multiple areas. Specify whether you want quiet and dark or lively and bright.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The 3 course meal was a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I really liked my steak and the bread was really good too. The service and atmosphere were just what we were looking for. The outside scenery and location isn't anything wonderful, it's in the middle of a business/office building and strip mall parking lot, but once you are inside it's good.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quality Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently ate at Z's Oyster Bar and Steak House on 4th St. in downtown Louisville, KY. We had been at a conference at the nearby KFC Yum Center all day and were ready for a good meal. Although we were not exactly dressed for fine dining, the wait staff made us feel relaxed and gave us their full attention to make our experience very pleasant. The food is fabulous. I had the Washington salad, and my entree was jumbo lump crab cake with sauteed asparagus. My husband had the house salad with the crab stuffed trout. All the food was extremely well prepared and presentation was wonderful. The pricing is a bit high, but the ambience, food, and attention to details all make it well worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My hubby made reservations here for our 5 year anniversary on Saturday night. It was an exceptional evening. Our captain (server) Amanda was excellent. The food was amazing and more that we could eat and yes overpriced but for special occassions that deserve very special treatment it was such a treat. They even gave us an anniversary card to thank us for spending our special occassion with them....cheesy but added to the experience with over the top service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Z's Oyster Bar & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Z's Oyster Bar & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z's Oyster Bar & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.