We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tarasco

El Tarasco
5425 New Cut Rd, Louisville, KY 40214-4254
502-368-5628
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 1,519 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family loves Mexican food, and you get reasonable prices for the food here. We don't visit here as often as others ini town but when we do we have a enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very friendly staff and great food. The whole family really enjoyed it. No complaints here. Will visit again when in town.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic Mexican value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place has the best chips & salsa and everything I've ever eaten there has been great. Service is good (feel free to speak Spanish) and the value is awesome. Get the frequent dining card. It is the best inexpensive Mexican food I have found in Louisville.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I eat at el Tarasco more than any other! Prices are reasonable, portions are huge, service is excellent most of the time, food is outstanding!!!!!! Recommend: burrito grande - w/ steak well done topped with queso and red sauce, burrito del mar - topped with extra queso or queso and red sauce! Many items are excellent, but these two are my faves! Appetizers - I recommend the churizo dish, but I cant remember what its called. Try some mexican beer too! I like Tecate with extra lime myself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My FAVORITE Mexican restaraunt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

I love the food here! Great taste, large portions, & casual atmosphere! Get "tarasco style", it's a mix of red sauce & cheese sauce! Yum! Everyone I've recommended has loved it!!! It's my whole family's favorite! The only thing to be desired is the decor. It's an old Lee's Chicken & still looks like it. Try the Mexican beers (tecate or sol are my faves!)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tarasco also viewed

 

Been to El Tarasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tarasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.