We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kashmir Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kashmir Indian Restaurant
1285 Bardstown Rd, Louisville, KY 40204-1303 (Highlands)
(502) 473-8765
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #803 of 1,440 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Highlands
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Highlands
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I visit this restaurant a couple times a month, because it always delivers good food and service. The owners seem to run the restaurant with a small staff and everyone is friendly. The type of folks who remember you and say "good to see you". Although they are not chatty ;) We typically get the sikh kabab, saag paneer, and one of the naan's (bread) and there is usually some leftover to take home. (there are two of us eating) All of the vegetarian dinners are amazing. The fish and cheese pakoras are good. Yummy lentil soup. Those are the items I have ordered the most. But I've never had anything bad. We typically get Kingfisher beer, which compliments the meal well. I highly recommend to others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

First let me say we love Indian food. We visit at least one Indian restaurant once each month. This was maybe the fourth one we'd tried in our city. Upon entering, the person at the door told us to go find our own seat. That seemed a bit rude, but oh well. The waiter took our order and wasn't helpful at all. Since it was our first time at this restaurant, we had a few questions about their menu. The wait staff who filled our drinks was at least courteous. When we were ready to pay we presented our Groupon. For the very first time at any restaurant, we were asked to show our ID - as if we had stolen the Groupon. Needless to say, we will probably not be visiting Kashmir again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beloved but not by me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a very popular Indian restaurant in a key funky spot in Louisville. When I went there our meal was average and the meat did not have any fat trimmed off of it. The restaurant wasnt cheap either. We went there 4 years ago and we never went back!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice little place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I try to go to their buffet once a month. The food is good and so is the service. It is much better than the Indian restaurant down the street.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,KY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food is very good, service just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The food at Kashmir is consistantly good. It's a small place and sometimes gets a little noisy when crowded. I just wish the service was friendlier. They are compentent, but sometimes they don't even seem to want to smile!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kashmir Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kashmir Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.