We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine

Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine
2039 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY 40206 (Clifton)
(502) 894-9501
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 1,560 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Clifton
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Clifton
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stopped in here after having a massage hoping to have some good food. I ordered the yum-yum hand roll with a rainbow roll to share while he ordered to beef teryaki. The beef was SO over cooked and dry and there was barely any sauce on it. The portion of the beef was good but there were not very many veggies. The rolls were good and I enjoyed them but the other food was not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worst food in a long time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went excited as we love Japanese food and sushi. We ordered soup, appetizers, entrees and sushi and sadly not one of the items was acceptable. Everything was bland and tasted so cheap.
The server was so sweet, but not helpful. We will not be returning. There are a lot of decent sushi places in Louisville and in my opinion, this is not one of them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Rolls!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family love this place!!! This was my second visit to this restaurant with my family, and the other time with my friends. The servers are kind and quick. The rolls are excellent. Order the not-so-typical ones. You will love their creation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“some excellant special rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This return trip was much better than the first time here. We tried some different special rolls and the romantic roll was awesome. All the others were very good and service was fast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“excellent, THE place to go for sushi in downtown Louisville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

good service. well located. Clean. nice ambiance. I had the bento box (salmon) it was $20, followed by a mushroom soup ($3) and house salad ($3). The beer (sapporo) was nice and cold with a frosted mug. the waitress was attentive. not crowded. And the dessert was to die for. A fried cheesecake of sorts smothered with whipped cream and chocolate sauce. Enjoy, it was wonderful !

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.