We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
657 S Hurstbourne Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40222-5095 (East Louisville)
502-412-4666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,517 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I recently made our first visit to this restaurant. I knew it was a chain, but I had heard good things. In short summary, I left quite disappointed and do not plan to return any time soon. That said, it was "OK", so I would be willing to go back if that's where others really wanted to go.

To me, there just wasn't anything special here. The atmosphere, the service, the food, everything.... was just middle of the road. This isn't a real high-end restaurant, but it's priced above other well-known chains like the Outback Steakhouse, the Olive Garden, and Red Lobster. Generally, I enjoy my meals at those places more than I did at Bonefish. While this wasn't a bad experience, I simply think there are many better options for the dining dollar in Louisville.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Bang Bang shrimp is delish. My martini was only 3/4 full (lame). Bread and oil was great! There were supposed to be calamata olives on our salad (there weren't). And, veggies were pretty salty. Ambience is nice and service was fantastic.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Summer Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Received an e-mail from Bonefish offering their Summer Catch of Lobster tail, scallops, grilled shrimp, one side, seasonal vegetable and and a salad for $19.90. We tried it and it was delicious.

Their food is always good but this was also an exceptional buy. I say keep the emails coming!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Didn't realize it was a chain restaurant (and I don't really mind!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I don't have a Bonefish Grill in Minneapolis, so I was unaware that it was part of a chain (which I typically avoid). I had a fantastic drink (Bonefish martini), followed by really fresh ceviche and excellent diver scallops. The food was so fresh, it tasted like a meal served at a coastal restaurant, rather than land-locked Louisville. I would go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the Mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Even though this is a chain restaurant I love the ambiance, food, and wine choices. The staff is always professional and courteous and I have never had a so-so entree, only awesome deliciousness!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.