We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus German Restaurant

Gasthaus German Restaurant
4812 Brownsboro Ctr, Louisville, KY 40207-2381 (East Louisville)
502-899-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 1,519 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Louisville, KY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great German food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Walking through the door propels you into another country. The food and decor are authentic since the family Griepel are from Germany and do all the cooking and baking. We have tried virtually everything on the menu and have never been disappointed. Mr. Griepel takes care of the kitchen, Mrs. Griepel greets you at the door and as you walk to your table you pass all the yummy homemade desserts she has made. We do not drink but there are several varieties of German beer available. They are only open for dinner beginning at 6 PM, Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are a must for Friday and Saturday. We love this place!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Having lived in Germany for 3 years and falling in love with the food and country, it's hard to imitate the food, I believe. But Gasthaus comes close.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Louisville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

The food is amazing and never disappoints. I have tried every item on the menu and many of the daily specials. This is our favorite place to take guests visiting from out of town.

The entrees are filling, without being heavy. The ingredients are always fresh and the desserts are amazing.

The service is fantastic and the owners and their family are always enjoyable.

They have a great beer wine list along with Seasonal specials.

A great place for a romantic dinner or a group of friends!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best German food I have had in years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Menu has a large variety of authentic German cuisine. If you are looking for genuine German food you don't have to look any further. This is it, the real deal. Attention to detail and the processes of cooking is the only way to get results this good. My mother-in-law is from Germany and the taste of home brought a tear to her eye. I asked her how it compared to what she had in Germany, "This is wonderful food." She thanked us repeatedly for bringing her along on my birthday celebration. I have found a new favorite restaurant for my "Special Celebrations" . I can be sure anytime I go here the celebration is going to be dealt perfect food. I was raised on German food and this is the best I have ever eaten.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience would suggest this for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Wow just like being in Germany this is the best place you can ask for without a passport. A must for peaple looking for a restraunt that is worth the money. Be sure to save room for dessert they are heavenly. Make a special date night and travel the world without leaving Louisville.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gasthaus German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.