We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food, but you'll be there a while. !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
2051 S Hurstbourne Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40220-1623 (East Louisville)
+1 502-493-2426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 1,517 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Cross street: Taylorsville Road
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lots of food, but you'll be there a while. !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The portions are Huge and amazing. Ask the food was great, everything from the bread, the salad, the entrees, and desserts. But plan to stay a while. It's not so much the service but it takes a while to make all these big portions. It's a little pricey but honestly for That much food it's worth it. Just split plates is all I can say!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“"Excellent Italian Food with a Unique Interior"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This restaurant serves everything family style either Buca small (serves 2 or more) or Buca large (serves 4 or more). Everything from appetizers, salads, pizzas, and pastas. Single portions for lunch. Bread and oil is served prior to your meal. The spicy chicken rigatoni (small $20.99) is ample to take home for another meal. Their lasagna, chicken limone, and salmon to name a few are delectable. Save room for dessert, the cheese cake is wonderful! Parties can opt to sit in the Pope room. They have a table in the kitchen always fun to sit and watch the items being cooked. Open Mon-Thur 11-10, Fri-Sat 11-11, Sun 11-9. Join their e-club for coupons via e-mail. This is one Italian Restaurant not to be missed. Highly Recommended....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Chain restaurant with an expensive twist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I love Italian, so does my husband, so we had high hopes after a recommendation to Buca di Beppo. The restaurant is easy to get to just off Hurstbourne and has enough parking to handle a fairly heavy night's traffic. The interior is whimsical with strings of lights, statues, and some great pictures. You are led on a bit of a hike which winds through the kitchen to get to your table, something that I felt encouraged by as the kitchen does look clean. We were handed a menu and I was surprised by the prices until the waiter explained that a salad could feed several people as could the entrees. As I am a vegetarian and my husband is NOT, we had to order separately. I tried the Eggplant Parmesan and my husband ordered Chicken Masala. That is exactly what we got - a plate with three pieces of eggplant and another plate with three pounded chicken breast pieces. No pasta, no vegetables, nothing else. I asked the waiter where the pasta was as I have never been served Eggplant Parmesan without some accompanying pasta. He said we would have to order any pasta we wanted (again, we would have had separate orders as I wanted marinara and my husband wanted meat sauce). As our tab already totaled more than we typically pay for dinner at a chain restaurant, we decided to just stick it out as it was. My husband ploughed into his chicken pieces and managed to finish it but I found that eating just fried eggplant with some cheese melted over it gets boring - Quickly! The food was perfectly okay and I took the remainder of my eggplant home where the next night I cooked angel hair pasta, poured marinara sauce over it, put my remaining eggplant on top, added some mozzarella and baked it until it was hot at which point I enjoyed it. The service was satisfactory, nothing to either get excited over or to complain about. Overall, a mediocre experience that is a bit pricey. I don't really get the gimmick of serving each item individually except that to get a complete meal means the restaurant gets more money. In the future I will either go to Martini's or drive to Giuseppe's in Lexington (our favorite outside of Nick's Roman Terrace in Richmond, VA) when I am craving Italian. Even Romano's Macaroni Grill seems to be a better value to me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Food was ok...disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have been to Buca several times since they opened. While a bit pricey, the food was always delicious. I was very disappointed this week when I went with my family. The pasta was undercooked and the dishes were tasteless and very dry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went here on recommendation from the hotel we were staying at and it was an excellent choice. The place is awesome and the food was authentic. The chicken parm was perfect. We loved the family style serving.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.