We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Hungry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
2051 S Hurstbourne Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40220-1623 (East Louisville)
+1 502-493-2426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,440 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Family Fare, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Cross street: Taylorsville Road
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go Hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

FORGET THIS PLACE...if you are the type that likes petite portions, bargains, being ignored, or a quiet atmosphere.

GO TO THIS PLACE... if you like huge servings and a fun (but somewhat noisy) atmosphere, and very attentive friendly service.

Make it an occasional visit for a group when price is not a consideration and you will love it. We sampled much of the menu and everything was good although nothing was truly outstanding. The three things we need to try next visit are squid, canoli, and those huge meatballs. Sparse flatware, paper napkins, and cheap table coverings seemed out of place in this price range. We will return, but it won't be soon and it will be with a discount coupon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Buca di Beppo: A Mixed Bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Recently, I went to Buca di Beppo with a group of friends. This was my first time but not my last visit to this kitschy family restaurant. The servers are prompt and courteous. The walls are covered with Catholic kitsch such as pictures of former popes, etc.
The serving sizes are gigantic such as the massive meatballs--$23.00. These meatballs are the size of navel oranges. The apple Gorgonzola salad is enormous. This salad consists of Granny Smith Apples, spiced walnuts, dried cranberries, Gorgonzola over mixed lettuce and Italian vinaigrette dressing. Two people can easily share the entrees and the salads as did two members of our party.
There are so many fine entrees to choose from. I had the Prosciutto stuffed chicken which was three chicken breasts stuffed with prosciutto and mozzarella cheese and a marinara sauce. The pretty lady on my left had penne pasta with a vodka sauce that was both spicy and sweet. And two people in our party had the Goliath sized meatballs. No one left the restaurant hungry. In fact, most of us took home food in boxes for the next day’s lunch.
However, there are a few negatives about the restaurant. First, every item is ala carte. Second the menu items are in the pricey range. For example, a small Caesar salad costs $12.99 . For these prices one would expect linen table cloths instead of the plastic red and white checkered table cloths and linen napkins instead of the small paper ones they use. And there were no salad forks. Our table had only one small dish of olive oil which was set on the table for a party of ten.
There is a feeling of claustrophobia. I was so close the one of the dinners at the next table that I could have stretched my arm out and touched him.
On the plus side, the bathrooms are worth seeing, especially the ladies room which has some quirky art. Three of my female friends stood guard duty, so I could peek inside. Also, the men’s room has a few interesting pictures to see, but the ladies appreciated these pictures a lot more than I did.
All in one we had a great time and I will definitely go back here. Nevertheless it will not be a place that I will go when I want to whisper sweet nothings in my lady’s ear. This place is almost as noisy as the YUM Center during a U of L basketball game.
When you go, bring a group with big appetites. The food is delicious; the serve is prompt and courteous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Celebrate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our group of 11, including 7 kids ages 4-15, had a great meal and good service. We were seated immediately - on an early Saturday evening - and our waitress worked well with all. The total was $200 including tip (and wine); pretty reasonable for a group out size. This is the 6th Buca's restaurant I have visited. All have been great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Kids are not invited there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Even though this is a family restaurant, and supposedly kids friendly in reality is not. Maybe only the manager Lisa do not like children, but she would let you know in a very imposing manner that your children need to behave. She can ruin the best experience you may have eating in the restaurant. Instead of managing her stuff and keeping the clients happy, so they would leave quickly the restaurant she would tell you in your face that your kids need to behave, when they in reality wait for 20 minutes for the cake to come from the kitchen and they start to play hands game. Horrible experience I felt terrible and left the restaurant, had no cake there and promise never go back there. WE love the Florence Buca di Beppo location there children are welcome and always well treated by waitresses and managers. What a dissapointment in Louisville :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Loud Atmosphere, Rather Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food was very good. The service was very good. The atmosphere was good for a party (especially a family-style party), but not so much for a quiet dinner. This does not make the atmosphere "good" or "bad"; it just meas that different atmospheres are right for different occasions. The staff explained very clearly (and the info was clearly shown on the menu) that all meals are served "family style." This means that each item is priced for 2 people (small) or 4 people (large). Even when taking that into account, this place was pricier than most Italian restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.