We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a great steak; don't go here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's Steakhouse

Pat's Steakhouse
2437 Brownsboro Rd, Louisville, KY 40206
(502) 893-2062
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 1,517 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you want a great steak; don't go here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had been here 10 years before and it was a notable and storied place. This visit seemed a stark contrast to the memories of the place. There are a number of "old school" steak joints in the US. Most the most noted have managed to keep pace, offer quality and service. This place is so tired in every way and so unrewarding. For the same price you can go up to Ruth Chris.... PASS

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rare treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Perfect combo of Atmosphere (really cool horseracing paintings, etc...) collected over 40 yrs and all wood interior and best steaks in town...can't believe someone would actually not give this 4-5 stars, must have been in really bad mood or maybe a vegan? Simply a treat all the way around and great steak preparation and sides...try it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“order the steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

so I've had Omaha beef at Cascio's and prime rib at Nightengale's in Door County, so Pat's needed to come in big. I had the filet and ordered medium, came out pretty brown. should I had ordered med/rare, probably would have fared much better...I'd have to say they are rich in history and have a uniquely cut-up building, but pretty average on the steakhouse...I was with a group of 20 and didn't hear much "ohhhh aaahhhhh"

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pat's Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pat's Steakhouse serves very good food. A little on the pricey side at @$38 - $45 for steaks or chops. But one very big surprise: They do not accept ANY credit cards. Just cash or personal checks. Big surprise when you have 7 guest for dinner and the check is $400 and the waiter informs you they don't take credit cards. Nothing is publicly posted to inform you of this policy upon entry. Luckily I had cash.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Steaks very good and service has forever been great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I have celebrated our wedding anniversary at Pat's for over 25 years and have always been well pleased. Steaks have always been cooked properly, tender and very juicy. Last month I decided to try the veal cutlets and they (2) were crisp on the outside, tender inside and I got the gravy on the side. My wife says the iceberg lettuce wedge with blue cheese dressing is tops, I always get the mixed green salad. It appeared to have something placed on top of the preportioned salad as the greens were flat in the salad dish, but crisp and cold. Pat, the owner, has always come by to welcome us and make sure we were pleased with our meal and wish us a happy anniversary. Pat's is a very special place. I never found other top tier steak houses in Louisville to offer a personal touch that means so much to celebrate a special event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Pat's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.