We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never A Disappointment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
401 S Hurstbourne Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40222-8042 (East Louisville)
502-423-9220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #532 of 1,560 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never A Disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

One of the few restaurant choices for our infrequent stays in Louisville. We always find the atmosphere, service and food to meet our high expectations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ky
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Liked the old menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been dinning at this place for years. Last year we notice a change in the quality in the food. It was like the went with lower quality ingredients. We stop going. Last week We were near there and tried it again. The menus were new, some of the standard favorites Chicken Marsala was very salty and needed more wine. If I remember correctly the dish previously had portabella mushrooms( gave it a woodsy flavor)The meat ball sandwiches were ok. They really need to sauce them better. The wait staff was younger and faster( with out those stupid neck ties).The room was brighter( usually on the dark side). We may try it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

i like this place very much.. great food an good wine.. we come here alot to eat.. I like the porkchops very much.. very tender

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent gluten free meal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had Penne Rustica with gluten free penne. The pasta was so good, I thought it was a mistake. The GM told me that they were rice and corn noodles. Then he brought me the package to see the brand. The GM was more than helpful. This meal /pasta tasted much better than Carrabba's GF dinner!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the bad chains!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Slow but pushy service. Don't fall for the salad scam. It doesn't come with your entree and costs $7. They have obviously been trained to ask "and do you want the house or the caesar salad with that" after you order the entree making you think it's included. It's not, and they know what they're doing. Completely unacceptable and I will never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.