We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet burgers and creative mussels well done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel & Burger Bar

Mussel & Burger Bar
9200 Taylorsville Road, Louisville, KY
(502) 384-4834
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,505 restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Orlando,FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Gourmet burgers and creative mussels well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

An interesting concept very well executed. A couple of points to reitierate:
1. There's a wait for dinner. Of course there is - a good, popular restaurant is going to be busy. There's a small bar area, get a drink and hang out for 30minutes - it's worth it.
2. The burgers and sides are large - great value if you want to eat it all, definitely sharable as well. The breakfast burger was outstanding, and the sweet potato fries were fresh and hot.
3. The mussels are good - I had the sauce with chorizo, awesome. As mentioned, sop as much as possible.
I was surprised they didn't have any beers on tap, but they have a wide selection of craft beers and favorites in the bottle. This is not a "fine dining" restaurant, but it puts out some of the finest examples you'll ever taste of their specialties: mussels and burgers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    77
    37
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you want Mussels or a Great Burger this is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are the type who goes to dinner at 6pm to 7pm be prepared to wait. I haven't been here in the last couple of months when there wasn't a wait. The Mexican corn is nothing but wonderful. I have to say I have had just about every burger on the menu and have not had one that wasn't cooked the way I liked them, Medium. Everyone had a taste of their own and was very unique. The one I really like is the Local Burger. It wasn't on the menu the last time we were in there but they said they were going to add it. You have to ask for this one. It's great.

If you like mussels you have to try the Moules Basquaise and the Blue Cheese and Beer ones are also great. The whole menu is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We dined here for a quick lunch. The food was very good as well as the service . The atmosphere was excellent . However I would by no means rate this as the fourth best restaurant in Louisville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to find this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling through Louisville on a "ladies weekend," and we decided to try lunch here because of the tripadvisor reviews. What a treat!! It was definitely worth the detour. I don't know Louisville, but it seemed like this was sort of located in a suburb in upscale type of strip mall. The inside decor was tasteful and the service was approachable. The three of us started with a salad that was good. Nothing special, but just good. Then, one of us got a burger, one a gourmet grilled cheese, and one a chicken sandwich. We were debating which one was the best ( we all thought our choices couldn't be beat), so we each tried eachother's lunch. Oh, my. Each of the lunches was flavorful, well-prepared and delicious. We actually couldn't pick a winner. We all decided that it really just depended on what you were most in the mood for...all three were memorable. We shared a flourless
chocolate cake for dessert. It was rich and dense, just like it should be. If I'm ever in the area, I would love to try out their dinner menu. You can't go wrong here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great atmosphere ~ clean and fresh. Burger with gouda and fries were super. Everyone loved their meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel & Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel & Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel & Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.