We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great treats in a fun setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Comfy Cow

The Comfy Cow
2221 Frankfort Ave, 339 Cardinal Blvd., Louisville, KY 40206
+1 502-425-4979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,516 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ice Cream is our passion. We hope that every bite you take reflects the care and attention to detail we put into each and every small batch we produce. We continually look to source the absolute finest ingredients, locally whenever possible.Although profit is certainly one of our goals, we started this business with the hope that we would be able to give back to communities in some meaningful way. With each purchase, you are helping us make that a reality and we thank you.Perhaps we will not get to ever actually meet you in person but our hope is that you will be 'comfy' and happy while enjoying some of our homemade creations. As we all make this journey through life, between the eternities, may your days be pleasant, productive, and fulfilling. Do great things today! Visit one of our locations!
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great treats in a fun setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This ice cream shop and adjoining rescued Victorian house have quickly become a staple for a fun time in the historic Crescent Hill neighborhood. Kooky ice cream flavors and artsy fun decor. The house is the inside dining though there is cafe style that is popular outside, too. A great way to cool off from a hot summer day or to close an evening with friends or family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from vacation and were not dissappointed! Love the cute shop and all the flavor choices.Will definitely stop here again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Go for the ice cream, stay for the atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

You cannot miss the pink building! I highly recommend getting your treats and staying to enjoy the unique and quirky decor of the sitting areas. It is partially an old renovated house that has lots and lots of charm. It has been decorated with flair and whimsey. You cannot help but chuckle at some of the random and odd items in this place. It has been given a character all its own.

Go in to sample the different flavors of ice cream and see if you can actually make up your mind. This is absolutely the best ice cream the 50 year old, well travelled man has ever tasted. Smooth and creamy, and flavors that range from familiar to strange combinations (grits and sorgum?).

We were in town for the weekend and actually came by twice. My favorite out of all flavors was the Ginger Snap. Usually sold around Christmas, they were doing a little Christmas in July thing. SO glad we experienced this unique and worthwhile stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

FORGET THIS PLACE...unless you want fantastic ice cream, interesting flavor names, a chance to fight for a parking spot on a busy evening, and the chance to pay slightly more than you think you should for an ice cream treat. The building is interesting in that it was old and dilapidated and they saved it from the wrecking ball and turned it into several small dining areas. Nice job. With names like "Strawberry Fields Forever", "Banana Nana Fofana", "Chocolate Brownie Points" and "Pretzel Logic", you know you are walking into a fun place. I really liked the place and wanted to tell you it is better than Graeter's, but it isn't. However, it is just as good, just slightly more expensive. "Black Raspberry Chip" was an excellent choice tonight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Outstanding flavors....too many to choose from"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had eaten earlier this month at a restaurant that served Bacon Bourbon Ice Cream that is prepared by The Comfy Cow it was out of this world good. So we decided to stop in on our next visit and see what other flavors they had to offer. Each of us got something different and they allow sampling, since it is so hard to choose. You will have to make multiple trips...enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Comfy Cow also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to The Comfy Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Comfy Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.