We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girlfriend lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheddar Box Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cheddar Box Cafe
12121 Shelbyville Rd, Ste 103, Louisville, KY 40243
502-245-2622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 1,517 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great girlfriend lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Cheddar Box Cafe has a unique variety of menu items and wonderful desserts. The tomato artichoke soup is a favorite as well as the Italian Cream Cake. I enjoy the atmosphere. The service is great. It is open until 3PM.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berry, Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Super nice little cafe with unique menu! This is not your ordinary everyday chicken or ham sandwich, but offers pasta salads with feta..excellent; tomato soup with artichokes...not a favorite but something different for the taste buds. You just have to go try it to see for yourself! We went right at lunch time and they were very busy (always a good sign), but had no trouble getting seated; with very little wait time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch in Middletown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of my favorite lunch spots to meet friends or have a lunch date with my husband. It is cafe on one side and order up "to go" deli on the other. Great salads and soups. The black bean ravioli is wonderful with tomato artichoke soup. Their sweet tea with orange (instead of lemon) has forever changed how this Southern girl drinks her tea!! And the deserts are FANTASTIC! Go early, as there is a wait right at lunch. If you have to wait, put your name on the list and then pop next door to 2 Chicks for reasonable, fun costume jewelry or upscale gifts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheddar Box, Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This little upscale cafe is located just off Chenoweth Lane and sits right next to the railroad track in St. Matthews. The hours are limited. They are only open until 3pm each day. However, they do open early for breakfast. I recently ate there and enjoyed the Eggs Benedict. The eggs were perfectly cooked and the sauce was very tasty. They also offer a nice lunch menu along with their breakfast menu that is served all day. The only reason I did not give it a perfect score is because it can be a bit noisy when the cafe is full. There are no drapes to absorb any of the chatter of the patrons. That keeps it bright and open feeling, but alas, a bit noisy if you are meeting with a friend to catch-up with one another.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I'd say Louisville's best kept secret, but this place is no secret.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The Cheddar Box has been around for some time now and it's reputation speaks for itself. Amazing food, fair prices, friendly staff=a perfect lunch. The menu has something for everyone- from hot to cold items and everything has that homemade touch. The kids menu could use a revamp with a few more healthy options, or at least something with a veggie, but I'm a parent that REQUIRES a veggie in my children's meals-(call me coo-coo). We were there with a party if 5. 2 children, 3 adults-at the peak of lunch and although they were packed, we got seated right away. The sweet tea with orange is divine. I ordered the honey pecan chicken salad and it was very yummy. There were no complaints from our entire table. We ordered some Benedictine to go and could not have been happier with it.
My only complaint would be that it was a little chilly in there and it was VERY loud but really, nothing we couldn't handle. If you are in the Louisville area you should try this place. They are ONLY open from 11-3 Mon-Sat-FYI.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheddar Box Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to The Cheddar Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheddar Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.