We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Dollar

The Silver Dollar
1761 Frankfort Avenue, Louisville, KY 40206
(502) 259-9540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Silver Dollar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,505 restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Street
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

All of our family enjoyed the food and visiting here. The waiter did a good job. Even though it was a busy night, we were not rushed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    41
    26
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Very unique dining with locale food. The BBQ Grilled Chicken Thighs along with the Beef Brisket were delish. We enjoyed the setting and selection of whiskeys and beers. Make sure you visit this locale for a taste of good southern cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to grab a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great place to hang for a drink or two or have an entire meal. Have been twice since the place opened, once for dinner and once for drinks. Service was exceptional both times. Very attentive wait staff. This past time, boyfriend and I stopped in for a couple of drinks and an appetizer after dinner at a place that wasn't completely filling. Such a wonderful atmosphere to hang out in for a drink or two or for dinner with friends. We split the beef empanadas. Delicious - especially with all three sauces they offer, including hot, salsa verde and mole/barbeque sauce. Boyfriend was excited because they are the only place in town we know that serves Coors banquet beer, not Coors light, on tap. I had a delicious glass of Pinor Noir. Loved the record player at the bar that plays mostly Country Western tunes. Can't wait to go back to the Silver Dollar for dinner or drinks. No trouble parking streetside on a Friday night either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my wife and mother to the Silver Dollar. All I can say was it was very good food. They have a large selection of beers to choose from. I had the Texas style chili. It was very good but very spicy. The portions was very large. I would go back again. The prices was also reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“One of my favorite restaurants in Louisville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I come here all the time, the food is always excellent. Great whiskey and tequila selection. Long microbrew list. Try the chicken and waffles!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Dollar also viewed

 

Been to The Silver Dollar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Dollar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.