We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sea Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Marlin

El Marlin
1850 South Hurstbourne Parkway, Louisville, KY 40220
(502) 365-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 1,518 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Description: El Marlin offers simply-prepared premium seafood and meats, an impressive cellar, and handcrafted signature cocktails mixed by our chefs who are well practiced in the art of mixology. The service is top-notch, and the atmosphere offers a unique blend of different cultures in one place. Our comfy chic-casual establishment truly sets it apart from other Louisville restaurants. Our vibrant happy hour features ultra-premium cocktails, appetizers and food specials, as well as signature handcrafted drinks. We now offer lunch buffets every Monday-Friday, from 11AM-2PM for only $6.99! We look forward to serving you! TE ESPERAMOS!
Camden, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sea Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great Sea Food choices that are not fried. Our group was looking for Sea Food in Louisville that was not breaded and fried found El Marlin on Trip Advisor. Everyone tried a different dish and all tasted great. We will return the next time we are in Louisville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Two friends and I tried El Marlin for the first time and really enjoyed it. The salsa dips that they set at the table upon arrival were unique and delicious, including a fish seviche. We ordered drinks which took awhile, but they were also tasty. We enjoyed the queso with chorizo, although it needed more queso to be balanced, and guacamole. Our meals, fish tacos and two different shrimp preparations were fresh and delicious. We all agreed we wanted to return to try out other dishes on the large menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can eat off the floor...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is the first time I write a positive review of any kind. I was hesitant to experience seafood of any kind in the Midwest, but I must say I was impressed with their seafood "murcajete" plate. More importantly, this place is INCREDIBLY clean and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommend it...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seafood with a Latin twist! What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We like seafood and this was a unique experience because I am told that it is so authentic by my Hispanic friends. It sure had ample portions and very tasty. Reminded me of being in Playa del Carmen again at some of their wonderful restaurants. Service was friendly and attentive. Instead of the customary chips/salsa the beginning was tostado and four unique dipping sauces. One with shaved carrots, spices, and lime was very tasty. Dinners were typically $11-15 so it is good value. Lunchtime is inexpensive if you want to try that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Have to eat fish tacos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Most places I go to have soggy Tacos. Noooooo! That is the worst thing that can happen. When I came to El Marlin, it was different. Everything was fresh and tasted wonderful. My daughter had grilled fish and we were both surprised that she ate the whole dish! We would recommend everyone try El Marlin! We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Marlin also viewed

 

Been to El Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Marlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.