We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Louisville Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Louisville Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff and a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

This hotel is characterized by an excellent downtown location, extremely nice staff who willingly goes the extra mile to make your stay pleasant, and is coupled with a nice room.

They could not accomodate the room I had requested weeks ago. Free access to the concierge lounge was given as a result. I had difficulty accessing the wireless internet and was given acces for free. I had to extend my stay, and they continued these offers. A request for a late check out was granted without a problem

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    189
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
57
79
26
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel itself seemed fine to me... pretty typical downtown Marriott. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was OK... although it had an old fashioned TV (not a flat screen). I do agree with the criticism about the bed covers... you had a choice of a very heavy comforter or a very light sheet, and nothing in between.

Unlike one of the earlier contributors, I didn't have any problem with the self parking. The garage entrance is on the street behind the hotel (Liberty St.), and you use your room card to enter and exit, including when you leave for good.

This hotel is very convenient when working in Southern Indiana, because it's right beside Second St. which leads to the bridge across the river. Maybe five minutes tops to get there.

I wasn't very happy with room service for dinner. It was barely adequate... and included problems like badly (and obviously) wilted lettuce on a turkey club. I tried the food court at 4th Street Live one night and found it to be pretty dicey. There's all of about three fast food joints there, and they are only marginally functional at 6:00 in the evening. Hardly anyone was at the food court, and some of those who were there were pretty shady. I won't go back there.

I wouldn't mind staying here again, but hopefully they will have made some much needed adjustments to the room service food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I walked in to get a room for myself and my Fiance' to have a night out and was told after swiping my card that it was declined and that I could go get money out of the ATM and pay cash. After telling them there must have been a mistake and letting them know that the card was a credit card and there were funds available, the front desk attendant insisted that I go "get cash". I decided to leave and go elsewhere. I noticed about a month later that there was a charge on my card from this hotel. Initially I thought it must be a mistake. After calling Marriott Louisville Downtown and being told that they have no way of confirming that I did not infact stay there, and that they show my card being swiped, I was told that if I wish to file a claim with my Credit Card company, I may. The person (Jerk) I spoke to was named Claud. I spoke with my credit card company and they showed that the transaction was in fact entered manually the following morning, after I was turned away. To make a long story short after several months, of documenting what happened and returning phone calls I was told that Marriott still would not refund my money for a night I never spent in their establishment. I would never stay in this hotel after my experience.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and used the valet parking and had a nice pair of Oakley sunglasses stolen from my car the night before I checked out. I spoke with the valet manager and he flat out lied to my face about replacing them. After at least 10 phone calls to valet manager, front dest manager, Marriott sercurity manager and an executive assistant I find out they are not going to replace my sunglasses. I could not get anyone to return my calls.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here over the 4th weekend, and we were very happy with our stay. They accepted my request of a high floor room, and we were able to watch the fireworks from our window!

Earlier in the day, we were able to walk to the riverfront and downtown area. It was very nice and conveinant. The parking was over $20, but being from Chicago, I am pretty used to being gouged on the parking ;)

Rooms were clean and comfortable. The soap/shampoo got me hopelessly hooked on the Orange Ginger stuff from Bath & Body Works. I love the smell! The pool was clean and large, my kids had a great time. They also loved how it wasn't on the ground floor- the kids got a kick of the pool being on the third floor!

The onsite restaurant was awesome as well- Champions is now one of my favorites! Try the Snicker's pie for a real treat.

This hotel was a good example of why Marriot's are so well liked. Clean, comfortable bedding. Friendly staff, excellent restaurants. The parking was steep, but for being right downtown it's expected. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I like Marriott... they are consistently nice and clean, and staff is consistently helpful. This one was no exception. Hotel was clean. Service was great. Staff did whatever they need to to insure a great stay.

But it is WAY overpriced. Was part of a convention in town. Paid $269/night for a standard room + $14/night for internet + $25/night for parking, plus $40.38 per night in LOUISVILLE in DECEMBER.

But, once one gets that out of the way, it is directly across the street from the Kentucky International Convention Center and connected to just about everything downtown via skybridges (avoiding the freezing cold and the resident homeless panhandlers).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Hotel is very nice, but they charge $21 per night to park and $12.95 per day for internet access. Ridiculous!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#9 Business Hotel in Louisville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.