We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Louisville Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Louisville Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a really nice Hotel. We used the valet parking that cost 27 USD for parking in the garage, Not bad and the crew was very helpful.
We had a little trouble with checking but that was because of my weird last name. I had wifi included and the VIP lounge which include a good breakfast. The fitness and pool area was really nice even had handicap access for the pool. The Hotel have 2 really nice bars and a cool Italien restaurant. The Hotel is close to the 4th street where all the bars and restaurant is.
Overall a good Hotel but I will say that is a bit prici, we just came from Chicago where I stayed at the Hyatt and it ended being cheaper with the same items included. If I´m going back to Louisville I will probably try the Hyatt, it looked really nice. We ended paying 332 USD with everything.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 17th floor, what an amazing view. The weird thing was that there quite a lot of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Jakobbr79,
Thank you for our review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
Our team prides itself on providing exceptional customer service starting from the front drive and continuing throughout the hotel.

I will follow up with the front desk to see what we can do to ensure your next check-in process is a little bit smoother.

Thank you for stopping by our two bars, both the Bar at Blu (on the Urban Bourbon Trail) as well as Champions (sports bar). What did you end up having?

We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Louisville. Please let me know how we can be of assistance.

Thank you,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    187
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
57
78
26
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at the Downtown Marriott while attending a conference in late May. The hotel was ideally located across the street from and connected to the convention center. This made traveling back and forth very easy. I had room service 2 times and the staff & food were great. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
jocko68wny,
Thank you for staying with us. We are connecting to the KICC Convention Center making us an ideal location for anyone attending a conference in Louisville.

It is nice to hear you experienced room service while here as well. One of my favorites is the french toast-what did you order?

We look forward to serving you while you are in Louisville, whether for a convention or for a leisure trip.

Thank you,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed recently while in Louisville for the weekend. We had a package that included self-parking, breakfast, and internet access. The hotel staff was very helpful. We were upgraded to a hospitality suite that was very spacious. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was very good with many delicious options. We also went to the sports bar in the lobby and sampled some local beers at the recommendation of our server. We walked to several locations downtown easily. We will stay here again when in Louisville. All in all, it was a full-service hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
jmotley123,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff. We are happy that you were able to walk to downtown locations. Louisville has a lot to offer both locals and first time visitors.

Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet-Blu's brunch just won Open Table's "Best Brunch" diners choice award. This is nominated by guests like you so we appreciate the kind words.

With over 30 beers on tap there are quite a few options to choose from at Champions. Some of our local favorites are Kentucky Ale's Bourbon Barrel Stout which has the best of both worlds-craft local beer and bourbon.

We look forward to serving you again,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

You can just tell, when Marriotts are adjacent to a city's convention center and the city is a city of size the hotel is simply a cut above the others. From the valet to the front desk, room service, the concierge lounge the Marriott downtown Louisville is a first class, well managed and well run hotel. My room was very clean and well maintained. The restaurants at the Marriott are both fabulous. The ubiquitous "Champions" sports bar was a cut above the rest; very nice and the service was top notch. The "Blu" restaurant is quiet and a great place for a nightcap. The fitness center was equipped with new and well maintained equipment. As a Marriott Platinum Rewards member, I can safely say they have the best bathrobes of any Marriotts I've stayed in. The Concierge's Lounge is quite large and very well run. The evening food presentations were terrific and delicious as was the breakfast. Do yourself a favor, the next time your travels take you to Louisville, stay at the Marriott downtown. You'll appreciate the attention to customer service and the first class experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Marty D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about the level of service you during your time here. It means a lot coming from a Platinum Rewards Member who has stayed at many Marriott hotels.

We pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality and are thankful you experienced that. I am excited to share your comments with our staff.

We look forward to serving you again.

Thank you,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel was in a great location to accommodate our needs. It is near everything in the downtown area & walking distance. The room service was excellent. I would use this hotel again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
ADW04,
Thank you for the review of your excellent stay with us. There are so many fun things to do within walking distance to our hotel and it sounds like you got to see some of them.

We are glad you enjoyed room service and will pass along your kind words about your experience while with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The positives first: Room was ready ahead of time, very clean and orderly, check in was a breeze. Valet's were awesome, very polite (as was all the staff). Valet's (especially Corey) get the gold star here, they saved this from being a 2 or 1 rating. Everything was clean and neat, lobby is awesome.

Now for the bad:
Horrible room service experience (out all day and tired just wanted a snack before going to bed). Quoted 45 mins. Had to all the first time after and hr and 15 mins. Was told they were on the way up. Called agiain 15 mins later. Was told don't know what is happening. I just said cancel the order as my wife is asleep. They show up 20 minutes later with the food and woke us up.They did comp the food, but that was it :(

Next we were out from 9-3ish. Come in and the room hadent been touched. Got a note under our door while in the shower that since we wanted privacy they wouldn't do our room that day. Had to beg to get our room turned over, clean towels etc.

Then out checkout we got over billed for a movie (front desk fixed it but after playing 20 questions).

Felt like a 2 star service vs what this hotel is attempting to market itself as.

Room Tip: high floor on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Phillip H,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and where we need to improve immediately. We take your comments seriously and view them as an opportunity to continuously improve.

We will revisit the time you were here with our room service team to see where we failed to meet your request. I can assure you that overall our room service staff delivers a high quality meal in a short period of time. However I understand that my words are of little meaning now as we clearly failed you during your stay.

If you could please reach out to me directly the next time you come to Louisville I will personally ensure you have a much improved stay with us.

Thank you as well for recognizing the staff, specifically Corey from the valet department. We will ensure that he gets recognized as well.

We look forward to hosting you again,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

When my husband and I walked in a realized a huge sorority convention was staying in the hotel we groaned. We immediately thought "long check in lines, giggling girls all hours of the night with lots of door slamming and slow service." We had none of that. This place was amazing and I think it was totally full. Service was fast, friendly and efficient. Their staff was personal and available to help despite a very full house. Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were quiet. This property simply had enough space to accommodate everyone and insure everyone had a great time. They also had enough staff to insure a positive guest experience for everyone.

The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are on par with what you would expect in a high quality hotel. Roomy, up to date, super clean, granite in the bathroom, etc. The location is perfect and easy walking distance to fun night spots, great restaurants and plenty of entertainment. We will definitely stay here again.

Great hotels rise to the challenge of full capacity. They still deliver an excellent experience to all of their guests, and this one really came through.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
AnotherHoustonian,
Thank you very much for your review of our staff and hotel. The team here takes great pride in taking care of all our guests on a consistent basis so your words mean a lot.

We just completed a full rooms renovation last year which keeps our product current, as well as clean and user-friendly. I am glad you were able to enjoy Louisville and some of the attractions we have to offer. Please let us know the next time you are in town and we can make more recommendations based on what you would like to see. There are two more bourbon distilleries coming downtown in the next year which helps bring the experience of Bourbon country to the city.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#8 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.