We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Louisville Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Louisville Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Benton, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

traveled for buisness with meetings in hotel and convention center next door. entire facility very clean with friendly and helpful staff. my room was on 14th floor facing south. north facing rooms have a better view of downtown and river front. room was very clean with comfortable bed. hotel food was very good and location downtown was close to 4th street live entertainment district with restraunts and a great bowling alley The Lucky Strike. would recomend this property!

Room Tip: go for a north facing room for better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Nathan;

We just wanted to take a moment to say thank you for the great review. Our team takes pride in providing a flawless experience, and it looks like we did that through all aspects of your stay.

Thank you again
David Rowland
Director of Food and Beverage
Louisviile Marriott Downtown
502-671-4280
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    200
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
60
86
29
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at this Marriot for a convention. It was so convenient to restaurants, the concert hall and the convention center. The staff there were very nice and very helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower was a little strange, however. It tended to have little spurts, but the temperature stayed constant, so it was more funny than annoying. Also, one day the housekeeper did not get to my room before 5 PM, and so my room didn't get cleaned as I went to relax.
No big issues.

Room Tip: They have feather pillows and duvets. I did not arrange something different, but would if I returned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in early March for a convention held there. Everything was very nice, from the check-in, to the rooms, to the friendliness of the staff. One of the nice things they do is have someone in the Lobby at all times to assist guests. Everyone was very courteous and helpful. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. I noticed that we did not hear the shower starting in rooms around us, which is really nice when you want to sleep in. We enjoyed our stay here and will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of staying at many Marriott's, this is another in the Marriott chain that lived up to my expectations. The staff was friendly, showing a real concern for their guests, real southern hospitality. Room and bathrooms were clean and quiet. Every turn in the hotel you were greeted by friendly staff members. The morning breakfast was a nice wake up, freshly made omelets with a nice selection vegetables, once again, southern hospitality, coffee cups were never allowed to get empty. Thanks for a pleasant stay, I be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Due to the convenience of the Downtown Marriott for a yearly trip to a trade show, I have stayed here a few times. As mentioned by others, it's proximity to restaurants and fourth street live, makes the Marriott a good choice.
Rooms are typical with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Staff is willing to assist when asked. The basement parking garage is safe and easy to navigate.
The renovated gym offers weights, treadmills with TV's clean towels and bottled water and is open to guests with room key access.
Champs is an average joint for a drink and quick burger. Too many other places to eat two blocks away.
If your holding a Marriott Rewards card, stay here for sure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in March 2014 and was throughly impressed by the quality of the hotel, from the decorations and cleanliness of the interior (lobby, restaurants, and rooms) to the cheerful and friendly staff, who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. My only complaint is that the beds were most definitely on the soft side, making a good night's sleep a bit of a challenge.

This will most definitely be a return hotel destination for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our room was very clean and large, bathroom was nice but my roommate had to sleep on a cot that was brought into the room since the organization we were with had just asked for deluxe rooms and the hotel did not have any rooms left with two beds, we were told, even after talking to a manager. The front desk was apologetic but I had made reservations two months prior but have since taken this up with the organization I was with during the conference...not the hotel's fault. The parking garage was handy and not real full, easy to navigate in/out of with easy in-out privileges at a discount since we took up most of the hotel. I did try out one of their two restaurants while there, Champions Sports Bar & Grille. The other restaurant was more for dining, BLU Italian Grille which I did not get a chance to try. However, I was not at all impressed with Champions. I could not believe it was a Marriott property. It looked dirty and our server did not seem that personable. I almost could not eat my lunch because of the underlying taste. It was served after a long wait.

Room Tip: Get 7th floor or higher, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#10 Business Hotel in Louisville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#30 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.