We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you would expect from a Marriott” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Louisville Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what you would expect from a Marriott”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I felt very safe at this hotel, it was nice and clean inside. The area around the hotel was safe and I felt comfortable walking at night. I enjoyed how everything you want to go to in Louisville was in walking distance of the hotel. There are very few food options it seemed around the hotel to walk to, but that isn't bad. I did have a few problems with the morning staff who were extremely rude and unhelpful. Thankfully all of the other staff members I encountered at different times of the day were very nice, helpful and always seemed to have a smile on their face.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments on your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed a sense of security both in and around the hotel and had the opportutnity to get out and experience some of what makes Louisville unique. Please come back and see us again when your travel brings you to Louisville.


Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    161
    40
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
70
24
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed 5 nights and had excellent service from all staff members. the location downtown is great. my only complaint is that the hotel does not offer coffee in the lobby. what? instead, there is a starbucks with a line a mile long and inflated prices. the food in the sports bar was terrific and reasonably priced. in general, a great stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you were able to enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the downtown attractions and also Champions Sports Bar. We did note your comment on the lack of lobby coffee but hope that on your next stay with us you can take advantage of the complimentary coffee available in the guestrooms.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

They were most attentive to my needs. Connects to the downtown Louisville convention center, a real step saver for those attending meetings. Near many restaurants. Room was excellent. Plumbing for the room upstairs and next door was behind the wall near the bed, and those noises are heard when the people are in their rooms using it. Overall, though, it was my top choice hotel for the time and I was glad they could accommodate me.

Room Tip: my room was at end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice compliments from your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a good service experience and also enjoyed our connection to the convention center and proximity to the downtown restaurants.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed for a business event that was also held at the Marriott. Very typical for a downtown Marriott. rooms were nice and I could see the city and the river. Loved the guy at the front desk, he was super- friendly and helpful. the parking was fine but a little pricey I thought.

Great location within walking distance to river and the "live area"

Starbucks in the lobby is a plus for me!

Room Tip: ask for a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you had a successful meeting experience at the hotel and a great first impression from the service at our front desk.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Finally a Marriott up to standards! The rooms are clean and all in white. The staff is very professional and the hotel facilities great. It was so refreshing to stay in a Marriott that met standards. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive endorsement and we are pleased the you enjoyed the guestrooms. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and are always pleased to have exceeded expectations.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Louisville Downtown, June 2013. The outside is a little dated but the inside is gorgeous. Beautiful lobby, updated rooms. The front desk staff was a little unfriendly at check in but it was late. The King bed was extremely comfy. They unfortunately put us in a room that joined with two others, and on the first night, it was fine. On the second night, a family of 5 moved in and we heard crying half the night and I was woke up at 6:00am the next morning to a small child beating on the door that joined our room and trying to get in to our room. I called down to the front desk and they not only took care of the issue, but also offered us free starbucks to "jumpstart our day". Overall, it is a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and we are glad that you had a great stay and the enjoyed the comfortable beds and the renovated guestrooms. Please come back and see us soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Downtown Louisville Marriott for a conference. The staff was more than helpful (almost too much) and our room was lovely. The beds were comfortable and the whole hotel was immaculate. I gave it 4 stars because of small things that may or may not matter to others.
Beds - A
Shower - B (pet peeve grab bar not placed properly)
Towels - C (plenty of them, but scratchy)
Meeting Room - C (freezing, wear a sweater)

Room Tip: This hotel is massive. Lots of walking if you ar attending a conference. Starbucks on site A+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay for your recent conference and enjoyed the hotel service and the guestrooms. I have shared your commnent on the meeting room temperature with our event management team. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#9 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.