We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most excellant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Louisville Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Louisville Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A most excellant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is one of our favorites. We travel to Louisville often, and have stayed at most of the hotels of any consequence. And this is by far our favorite. The rooms are comfortable, and well designed. If you can get a higher floor on the riverside, the view is beautiful at night. And the hotel is very convenient if you are there for a convention or meeting at the convention center. Cost is not outrageous, and the staff is considerate and helpful. We would recommend this to anyone, and now will always choose it if there is a room available.

Room Tip: All are great but for the view, choose high floor riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    187
    46
    20
    13
See reviews for
57
78
26
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

After writing about the poor housekeeping standard we found a couple of days earlier at the Marriott Renaissance in DT Nashville, the Marriot in DT Louisville was very clean. Nice hotel and good location in the DT.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend to attend a concert. From the time we valet parked to check out, we were treated like royalty! The staff wanted to know how they could go above and beyond to make our stay wonderful! The lobby is just beautiful and feels very upscale. It was lovely being able to use the skywalk to get to various locales in the downtown area! It was a chilly evening and the skywalk took us straight to the Yum center for the concert- no freezing necessary! Did I mention Champions, the awesome bar located right in the hotel?! We went there for a late night dinner after the concert. There was a wait, but they call your cell phone when your table is ready! Service was great and the food was delicious!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and plan to go back there often when business or pleasure takes us to Louisville!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott for the recent Jimmy Buffett concert at the KFC Yum! Center. You could use an enclosed elevated walkway from the hotel to the Center and never have to be outside. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was courteous, the room was spotless, and the proximity 4th Street Live! and downtown dining was superb. To top it off, we stayed in a 9th floor, river view room that we had Pricelined for $60 bucks the week before tickets went on sale!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 Friday night, while in town for a dance competition. The hotel is within easy walking distance of 4th Street Live, as well as many other restaurant options.

Hotel~Lobby is large, modern, and beautiful. Everything appeared clean and well taken care of. There were 6 elevators, so there was never much of a wait. Any employees we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Room~We stayed in room #1405 which had 2 double beds and a view facing the river. I was very pleased with the room. I loved the large bathroom and the Bath and Body Works Aromatherapy products! We could never hear anything through the walls from any neighbors, but the room next to us had someone coming and going from their room constantly and you could hear the door shut each time.

Pool~The pool and hot tub area were completely over-run by groups of young cheerleaders staying in town for a competition. The pool area itself was very nice, but we were unable to enjoy it due to the girls constant screams and shrieks. We stayed for about 10 minutes and couldn't handle it any longer.

Parking~Parking at the hotel is $21. There is a lot behind the hotel that charged $10 overnight. On-street metered parking was free after 6pm, but if staying overnight, the meters must be paid starting at 7am.

I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation. Just be aware that due to the close proximity of the Convention Center, you may be sharing this hotel with large groups.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were staying here for a concert at the KYC Yum! center. The staff of the hotel was great and the location was perfect. I will gladly stay at this location again if I should ever be attending an event at the Yum center

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed for Superbowl 2012 and was very satisfied with my stay. Everything you expect of a Marriott and the conference facilities were excellent too. Was able to walk to 4th St, the Muhammad Ali Museum, Louisville Slugger Museum. Staff friendly too. The reason I can't rate a five is that I prefer boutique style service and accomodations as I like to diverge to smaller businesses since I own one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#8 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.