We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Louisville Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I just spent two nights at the Marriott Downtown Louisville. This is a business and convention hotel, so it was basically empty. In fact, the MOD (Manager on Duty) said that their occupancy rate was on 16% for the night. The hotel is downtown and parking is near by or you can have your car valet for $18.00 per day. The hotel is about six blocks from the Interstate and within walking distance to many excellent restaurants.

The hotel has 17 floors with the club level being on the 16th floor. The hotel is always nicely decorated and they have a full-service restaurant, and lobby bar and a sports restaurant within the building. I have stayed at this hotel at least 30 times over the past couple of years and it seems there is a great deal of turn over at the front desk. Check in went smoothly. However, I had called ahead and asked for an upgrade to a suite on the club level and was told that the suite had been blocked off for me. However, when I arrived I was placed on the 5th floor.

This hotel is downtown and from the 5th floor you can hear the street noise. However, the rooms are comfortable, with great mattresses and pillows. I did have to ask twice to have my room cleaned, but these are minor issues. The hotel staff was very helpful with information, and was very friendly. So, if you have business in Louisville near the airport or downtown; the Marriott is an excellent choice for a hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    161
    40
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
70
24
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradfordwoods, PA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott in downtown Louisville for 2 nights while in town for a weekend wedding. This hotel met all of our expectations for a Marriott. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. My only complaint is that the pillows were small and there were just 3 of them (for 2 people in a king size bed). Smaller pillows seems to be the trend with many hotels now but I would much prefer normal size or king size for a king size bed. Also did not like the sign indicating bed linens are only changed every 3rd day unless you request it daily by putting the sign on the bed. Part of the pleasure of staying in a Marriott quality hotel is the freshness daily freshness of the bed so putting the onus on the guest to request clean sheets was not appreciated. But I give the hotel 4 stars simply because of its comfort, which is the most important thing for me.

We parked in an open public lot behind the hotel for $10 per day. The concierge was very helpful with maps and suggestions for tourist attractions. The price was very reasonable, at around $120 per night. Wireless internet is supposed to be billed at $12.95 per day, which seemed excessive, but I got around this fee by asking what the wireless code was in the business center (so I could use my iPad) and found the code worked in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My room at the Marriott had a lovely view of the city from the 9th floor. Room service had a couple of decent vegetarian options (for Louisville), which were served with a smile. It's a small city anyway, but the hotel is within walking distance from the main eating and business areas. The bathroom was quite large.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay. Rooms were modern and clean. Had two issues with my roo
That was quickly taken care of. Everyone was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit and we are pleased that you had a great stay. We will share your comments with our associates and we look forward to your return trips to Louisville and the Marriott Downtown.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you got some "spare change" to help with the costs of paying for things in the hotel, then this is the spot for you. Parking lots exist on-site and surrounding area, but all will cost you. There is a restaurant in the lobby that is not too expensive, but it's not cheap either. It's a cozy place that has good food and TVs to watch games and other events.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments on your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've stayed at both the Hyatt and the Galt House, and this is my new favorite. Quite honestly, I hated the others, but this hotel seems new and up to par for what you'd expect at an average downtown Marriott.

Valet parking and check-in were a breeze. The room was fine. Clean, and comfortable.

The only negative about this visit was their television offerings. They have these wonderful HDTVs, but they pump an awful standard definition signal through them. It's sad. I've come to expect at least ESPN and ESPN2 HD, even an HBO and some of the over the air network local affiliates in HD, but no joy here at the Marriott.

Otherwise the staff were friendly, the valets were quick, and once popping the low flow head off the shower the hotel was comfortable.

The view from my room was nothing special. A rooftop and some gloomy views of the convention center. Guess you have to request a high floor.

Room Tip: Low floor views are poor...ask for a good view if that's your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments from your stay and we love that we have become your hotel of choice in Louisville. With regard to your comments on the HD programing, the 42 inch flat panel televsions were installed over the summer and the new HD programing that is currently missing will be installed begining on 12/5/11 and will be complete by year end. We look forward to having you back soon to experience the new upgraded programing. Thank you again for the great comments and I will share these with our hotel team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Don't get me wrong, this a beautiful hotel right in the heart of the city but they charge you for everything. $13 per day for wireless in your hotel room (free in the lobby), $21 per 24 hours for parking on site, and breakfast was $16 for the all you can eat buffet which was the only good value as it included unlimited juice and coffee. For example, if you ordered the $12 breakfast sandwich plus juice and coffee as separate items your bill would be $20!! As for the rooms, again they were lovely to look at but we got a double - 2 queen beds as we were there for basic Army Graduation and our son would be with us for the weekend but if that was a queen then we are giants!! The beds were so small my husband actually slept on the chair. They were sold as 2 queens but actually we think they were full size. There was no buffer between your room door and the hallway and you heard every conversation and every door slam.
All in all for the price and all the extras you had to pay for you should think twice. The Comfort Inn closer to Ft Knox although no frills had free wi-fi and the double rooms actually had 2 queen size beds in them. We stayed there for final graduation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback from your stay earlier in the year. I am disappointed that while you enjoyed the hotel, you also felt that there were too many additional charges. We do offer a number of hotel packages that include many of these amenities and offer great value. These packages are available on most weekends and also in times of slow demand. I will share your comments with our staff and once again appreciate your wllingness to share feedback from your past stay.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#9 Business Hotel in Louisville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.