We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, this place is huge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center

Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center
937 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209-1398 (Fairgrounds)
502-367-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 61 Attractions in Louisville
Type: Convention Centers, Cultural
Attraction details
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow, this place is huge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Carl Casper Auto Show is held in the Expo and the place is huge! There are bathrooms everywhere and well kept. Several locations of food courts, but take your wallet because it is pricey! They offer a lot of parking - fairly priced for the city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    19
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Costly but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We are from out of town and were surprised that it cost us $40 just to drive in the door. The air conditioned exhibits were pretty cool, and our kids (ages 4 and 6) enjoyed seeing all of the animals up close. Very cool!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place used to be fantastic, but it has since gone downhill. It is no longer properly cared for and seems very dirty and run down

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“World's largest air conditioned fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I guess the economy has made the vendors in the south wing a little more aggressive and carnival barkerish, but overall it continues to be a summer highlight in the Bluegrass state. The animal, photography, quilting and culinary exhibits are favorites... Missing this year, of course was teh Ugly Lamp contest sponsored by the now-defunct Lynn's Paradise Cafe. But the FOOD!!!!! Not since the caveman have humans eaten so much food on sticks!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Review of the fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just attended for the fourth time (we are from Florida) and this time we gave it two full days. We attended two concerts, Toby Keith (paid - it lasted 3 1/2 hours) and Sunday night was the Oak Ridge Boys (free - it lasted 3 hours). Food is always good. We just watched and when the lines got short we got some food. Shows are always good but the ventriiquist in the North Hall entry is excellent. We laughed loud and a lot. (Don't sit on the first two rows or you will be up there) Dog show is good but the BMX show is always the most fun - get your seat at least 20 minutes early or you won't get one. The horse vendor area had a buffet set up and it was very good. Lunch was about $15 and dinner about $20. Lots of complaints here about parking - so pay attention. There are about 3 or 4 entrances but only ONE exit; on the north side of the old Cardinal Stadium. If you get there early and get a parking lot near the south entrance, it will take you about 1 hour to leave the grounds. If you ignore the workers trying to get you to park there, keep driving all the way to the back, about 100 feet PAST the old stadium. Then turn left into that lot. When you leave you are very close to the exit. Last night cars were lined up in 4 rows from that exit all the way to the front of the South Hall - about 1/2 mile. Now you know. FWIW - we try to attend 2 - 3 large state fairs each year. So far we've been to over 20 states. This fair and the Florida Strawberry Festival are the only two we plan to attend each year. FWIW two: I have to agree with comments about the attendees. Just sit somewhere and take it all in. You will see the largest humans you've ever seen, people with yellow hair, electric wheelchairs decked out like a '57 Chevy. Take a good camera and be discrete. FWIW three: the quilt area has more quilts on display than some fairs have in 10 years. Again, take a camera.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center also viewed

 

Been to Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.