We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good, but service is poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ghyslain

Ghyslain
721 East Market Street, Louisville, KY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 1,518 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food is good, but service is poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've been here several times and have returned each time for the good food. But, I'm done with the place. For three of us drinking water and eating sandwiches/salads today, we spent $50 and the service is just too apathetic for those kind of prices. Theemployees act as if they're doing you a favor by letting you order from them at the counter.

I'm not sure what the deal is with the management there...they clearly have their stuff together with the kitchen, but it must be a bad work environment for the front counter staff. I've seen a manager there treating both employees and customers poorly, so that's likely the issue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    36
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have eaten at Ghyslain in Westport Village several times in the last month. It is truly an undiscovered gem! It is across the parking lot from a very popular breakfast restaurant and last Saturday the line at the popular place was out the door. We walked across the lot to Ghyslain and were able to get a table immediately. Their coffee is served in French Press pots and was very high quality and delicious. In addation to being a restaurant, they are a chocolatier and bakery. I highly recommend getting a piece or two of their hand-crafted chocolates, a pastry, or gelato to complete your meal. I have eaten there for Breakfast and Lunch and enjoyed everything...especially the baguette bread! OOH LA LA!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I thought that Ghyslain focused only on desserts. I was wrong! Before the downtown trolley hop, my husband and I relaxed outdoors on Ghyslain's patio. The salads are wonderful and quite large. I suggest the salad with beets, arugula, shaved fennel, grapefruit, and a few other wonderful ingredients. This sounds like a busy salad, however, the ingredients complimented each other. A glass of crisp wine and a cool breeze were the start to a wonderful night out. I do not like the interior of Ghyslain, and dining outdoors would be a must!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good pot of French Press Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ghyslain is an interesting place to enjoy a breakfast or lunch. The pancakes were the best I've ever tasted in my life. Steel cut oats with sugared pecans and a pot of French Press Coffee is also satisfying. The California Salad is large and satisfying. Stand in line to order, get your own water, but enjoy the meal. For dessert choose from some artfully designed pastries, gelato, or have a piece or a pound of delicious melt in your mouth chocolate. It's different, it's French, it's pronounced Gee-slay. I recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice pastry, nice to sit at patio. Taste is average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to have pastries. Clean place.

Good: variety of pastries. Clean. Nice patio (sidewalk) to sit. Friendly waiters. Ok price.

Bad: poor interior design. Poor quality vegetables. Average taste.

I wish they could use good products to prep food. For example, tomatoes have no taste. They tried to use balsamic vinegar to make the taste better but as long as they use cheap ingredients, it won't work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghyslain also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Ghyslain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghyslain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.