We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beer Nerds Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holy Grale

The Holy Grale
1034 Bardstown Rd., Louisville, KY (Highlands)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,519 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Highlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Beer Nerds Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ive been to this bar and grill so many times I can not count. The bar staff really know there beer and are always happy to guide you to something you will like. The food is outstanding too! Best Burger in town hands down! Limited seating to arrive earlier to secure a table

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm not a beer drinker but the people I was traveling with are. While they enjoyed the wide variety of beers available, I enjoyed the food, We had the the Grilled Cheese (with gruyere, pesto, bacon, and apples) and the Pretzel Breadsticks with beer cheese. Both were amazingly delicious. I cannot rave anymore about them.

Beyond that, the bar is located inside an old church building and the patio area is very well done.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Evening drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a selection of beers!!!!...and you can have mini ones to try..so cute!.

We sat inside then ventured out onto the patio where we were met with an amazing altar with stained glass and fireplace...awesome.
Loved the herb gadren planted in troughs on the wall..so effective!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,ky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly terrific food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A pub in Louisville's trendy/funky Highlands in a converted chapel. Seating in the small bar, choir loft or bier garten complete with separate taps and grill. Gruyere grilled cheese with sliced green apples was awesome as was the fresh from the oven pretzel with beer cheese. Great assortment of beers. Bison sliders fresh off the grill were delicious. And a Pretzel like buns were a tasty dtouch. Not a lot of food choice but what they have is excellent. Nice mixture of 20-30 somethings with a sprinkling of folks like me with some gray. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snooty servers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Food was ok but bartenders and other staff were snooty. I tried it a second time and was disappointed will not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holy Grale also viewed

Louisville, KY
Louisville, KY
 
 

Been to The Holy Grale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holy Grale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.