We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a Steak N Shake.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smashburger

Smashburger
9409 Shelbyville Rd, Louisville, KY 40222-5157
502-326-4141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #339 of 1,440 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Topeka, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just like a Steak N Shake.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Steak N Shake could probably be a distant cousin of thia resturant. Would be nice if they had a "meal"' option instead of ale carte. There were a few dirty tables when we were in. There and at least2 people staning doing nothing.... typical burger joint

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Service was good, but I thought it was a little overpriced for the amount of food you got!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“burger was just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Smashburger is directly across the street from the hotel hyatt. We figured we would try something new. The employees were very friendly. My sandwich however was way too sloppy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Smashburger is a Smashing Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Forbes Magazine just recently rated Smashburger as America's Most Promising Company....which probably explains why I'm still poor. I really had high hopes for this chain after hearing about the cooking process, smashing a ball of ground beef on a hot grill to sear and lock in the juices.

My friend and I each ordered a Classic Smashburger, one with onion straws and the other with a small wedge blue cheese salad. We both ended up with a greasy mess. Actually, I'm okay with a good ole greasy burger IF it has some type of seasoning or just plain tastes good. Unfortunately this was not the case. Our Smashburgers were topped with lettuce, ketchup, tomato, red onion slice, pickles and american cheese on an egg bun. Talk about bland - and this was AFTER I added salt and pepper. Plus all the toppings kept slipping off the burger making a complete mess of things.

The onion straws fared better in my opinion although my partner was pretty unimpressed. The wedge salad was topped with real bacon bits, chopped red onion, blue cheese crumbles and slathered in a nondescript blue cheese dressing. Talk about ho-hum!

The two classic burgers with two sides and two drinks rounded out to nearly $19.00, far too much for what was a less than average meal in my opinion. Unless you're determined to try Smashburger just for the novelty, my advice is to stick to one of the 'tried and true' burger joints in Louisville such as WW Cousins or Bunz Burgers in the Highlands. Plus you'll be supporting the local economy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
524 reviews 524 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Went here for lunch with co-workers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Went here for lunch with co-workers after arriving in Louisville. Restaurant was clean and fairly well packed. The shake was very good. The hamburgers were good - similar to other "gourmet" hamburger chains. One of my coworkers had the veggie burger and thought it was good. Smashfries were also good. seasoning was nice. Overall a good place to have lunch.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashburger also viewed

 

Been to Smashburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.