We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food But Don't Let My Water Glass Get Empty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selena's at Willow Lake Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Selena's at Willow Lake Tavern
10609 Lagrange Road, Louisville, KY 40223 (Central Business District)
502.245.9004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 1,505 restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food But Don't Let My Water Glass Get Empty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've been to Selena's many times. The food is always very good. The service is a crap shoot. Our most recent visit was July 15. It was fairly early for a weeknight dinner and the place was not very crowded when we got there. Our waitress was fairly attentive to start, but as the evening went on we saw less and less of her. At one point I located a water pitcher myself and refilled glasses at our table. When it came time to get the check, one from our party had to go find her in the restaurant.

There are two signs that a restaurant has service issues: 1. When you have a 30 minute wait with empty tables and 2. When water glasses get to empty. There weren't enough people there last night for a wait, but the empty water glass thing was a real problem.

The food was outstanding. I had the New Orleans Medley, which I've had before. It was delicious. Very nice flavor with just enough of a kick. The Wife had the shrimp po-boy and enjoyed it (mostly just eating the shrimp from the sandwich roll). One from the other couple also had the Medley (and he loved it). The other had the gumbo and it was a hit, too.

This is a upper-mid scale restaurant with food that overachieves. The 4 of 5 rating is because of that fact. As a restaurant at that price point, however, service shouldn't be what you resign yourself to putting up with at Big Boy or Denny's. This needs to get fixed and it will be much more of a destination restaurant in Louisville's east end.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    22
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Seemed Overwhelmed for Father's Day Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family arrived for our 12:00 reservations and had to wait for another 20 minutes to be seated even though there were many open tables. We had requested inside seating, but we were seated on an outside deck one level above a large group of smokers which took away from our dining experience. That's the reason we wanted inside seating. The food was good, but the service was way below average. Our server only came by once to refill our drinks. We have dined here for the past three years, but I think we'll look elsewhere for a Sunday brunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not just a cajun wannabe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ended up at Selelana's, frankly, because we couldn't find a parking place within a quarter mile of The Village Anchor in Louisville. It turned out to be great serendipity. We had initially passed over Selena's because we've been to New Orleans, and learned not to expect too much from étouffée this far north. It was a very pleasant surprise to find such good food and service. The BCM (broccoli, cauliflower, mushroom) pasta dish and the calamari alone were worth the visit. Our server, J.R., (don't make "Dallas" jokes with him!) was extremely knowledgeable about Selena's liquid offerings and happy to investigate the others for us. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch - fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I went here for lunch with a group of ten. It was a rainy day so we did not want to sit outside, and we had no trouble getting seated. This restaurant has many Cajun dishes which others at our table enjoyed. The portions were large. I'm not a spicy food fan so I had the corn flake breaded fish fingers with fries. The fish was light and flaky. The batter was good but still allowed the mild flavor of the fish to come through. Nice atmosphere and the service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location, decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I really like the location of Selena's, but I wish they would offer a different cuisine. Cajun food at a place like Willow Lake just doesn't seem like a good fit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selena's at Willow Lake Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Selena's at Willow Lake Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selena's at Willow Lake Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.