We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3322 Red Roof Place, Louisville, KY 40218 (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I always stay at RRI's, since I travel with dogs. They have no pet fee and are usually adequate...a safe, so hassle place to stop, that's about all. This one was way more than adequate! Even among the renovated locations where I've stayed, it was impressive. It felt so brand new and super clean that I thought they just reopened. I asked the young lady at the desk how long it had been since the renovations and she said 2 years! Kudos to all involved for keeping it feeling so nice, fresh, and clean! You should all be proud! Also, FWIW, it was much quieter than most hotels I've stayed t!.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice review. We are very proud of our hotel and try to take good care of it as much as we try to take care of our guest. Please come back and see us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    56
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
57
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the best Red Roof Inn I have ever stayed in. Kelli always makes sure that my reservations are correct and Judy is always good to talk to. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is terrific. This Red Roof is located near some really good places to eat and convenient to the downtown area. Will always stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigblueLouisville, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice review. I will be sure to tell Kelli and Judy that you appreciate their hospitality. I hope to see you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

One of my main criteria for selecting a hotel is to check the ratings for cleanliness, this hotel is very clean. I definitely love the wood floors. But please be aware that there are no hairdryers, unless you stay in a "superior priced" room, and they give you 5 kleenex's, the personal pack that ladies carry in their purses only. If you want to use a computer, you can use the office computer, if they are not busy. But please note, that many of the websites are blocked because this is a office/staff computer, not a guest computer, which most hotels have for guests to use.
Last, but definitely not the least is the noise. Because the halls are on the outside of the building and this is a non-smoking hotel, the guests open their doors and smoke and party. I had to call the office 6 times and then finally call the police to stop the disturbances.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigblueLouisville, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am so sorry that other guest kept you awake the one night. It should not have taken so long for the issue to be resolved. We normally give guest one warning to not disturb other people and the second time we ask them to leave.

I am glad that you found the room to be very clean and well maintained. We are not a full service hotel so we do not offer the same amenities as they do but because of that we can keep our rates more affordable.

My staff gave you a VIP pass at check-out that can be used here or any other property at no cost to you. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked room over phone while driving home. When we pulled up we realized the door to room was outside. I guess because it was "after hours 11:15pm" we had to check in through a security glass.It made us feel like we were going to be robbed here. There are elevators so that was a plus.

The rooms were extremly clean. Major plus. A little small for my taste but for the price of $54 a night it was good. Safe in room as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigblueLouisville, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that you found the room to be very clean and nice.

We have the night window because there is typically only one person working behind the desk at night and they have many task to perform. The night area helps them to complete their task and be able to focus on the guest when they come to check in.

Please come back and visit us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stay at several Red Roofs on a regular basis. This is by far the cleanest and well maintained. You see a young woman out cleaning the outside a couple of times a day. She always says hello and has a great smile. I will be back.

Room Tip: Try the king room. Coffee pot microfridge iron and blow dryer. Reasonable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. I will let Judy know that you have noticed how clean and well maintained she keeps the hotel. Please come back and see us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is super nice! The location was easy to find. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. They are completely remodeled with warm hard surface floors that can be kept clean. No nasty old carpet here! Very comfortable beds too.

The staff was super helpful. They gave us a list of the best restaurants near the hotel. We tried a place called Wild Eggs and had the best breakfast ever! We were sorry we didn't have time to try more of their recommendations. Yum!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. It is nice to hear when the staff does a great job. I am glad you found the list of our favorite hotels helpful. Come back and see us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

tripadvisor rated this motel #13 in Louisville, KY. That is somewhat misleading. I stayed at this motel specifically for the rating it was given on tripadvisor. I have stayed in many hotels in Louisville and this is NOT the 13th nicest hotel in Louisville. There are many nicer hotels in Louisville. This Red Roof Inn is a MOTEL -- outside entrances, not-so-nice outside appearance, less-than-desirable neighborhood, you get the picture. If you are looking for a replacement for the Hyatt, Hilton, or even a Country Inn & Suites, this is not the place to stay. But read on...

Now, having said that, this motel IS very nice for a Red Roof Inn. The laminate hardwood floors, huge TV, and exceptional workspace were great benefits of this motel. It was also very clean. If you want a good night's rest in a low-cost motel, this one fits the bill. You even get some great advantages over other low-cost motels (i.e., free wifi, nice clean bathroom, in-room coffee, micro/fridge, large workspace). I am giving this motel a very good/excellent rating because it is very good/excellent for a Red Roof Inn. Comparing it to an upscale hotel, I would not give it such high rating. Just be aware of these facts about the motel and you will not be disappointed IF this is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. You are right we are not a full service hotel by any means. If you are looking for a clean comfortable room with friendly service at a reasonable price then we feel we are the best choice. The next time you are on a budget and in Louisville please stop in and see us again.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds

Address: 3322 Red Roof Place, Louisville, KY 40218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > South Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#14 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Louisville Se - Fairgrounds Hotel Louisville
Louisville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.