We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3322 Red Roof Place, Louisville, KY 40218 (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Avon, Oh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2012 while I visited Louisville for work. The room was spacious with a work desk, king sized bed, a mini fridge, and a microwave. The room smelled clean and looked clean with no noticeable cracks, peeling paint, or stains on the walls or carpet. The free internet had decent speed. Also, the hotel was right off the I-264 with easy access to downtown Louisville. The only drawback to this hotel was it was in a sketchy area with lots of abandoned buildings and shut-down businesses. I would recommend this hotel If you just need a reasonably priced place to stay for a couple of nights in Louisville.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    70
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
64
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Having a hard time believing everyone loved this place so much! People were nice but that's about it. Room had been updated but we found bugs in the room. Spent all day out on a Sunday( nearly 15 hours), when we got back the room was NOT cleaned. Then when I went to ask for towels, she gave them to us but couldn't find wash rags.. Had to drive at least 2 exits away to find food or gas or anything. Overall, very disappointed based on the reviews here. We would never have stayed at a Red Roof Inn except it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor. It was NOT the best experience. Won't be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, Manager at Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We have 5 restaurants directly in front of the hotel but you are right most full service unique restaurants are one exit east of us on Bardstown Road. You would just go north off of the exit and will find a restaurant on every block. We also have maps and a listing of our favorite places at the front desk.
In the fall we will start renovation the hotel. I think you will be amazed at how different the rooms will look. Please come back and give us a try again.

Again, Iam sorry that we did not exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the Derby. We shopped around and found this hotel to be reasonably priced and the reviews were good. Our room looked liked it was brand new. The girl at the desk was nice and helped us find transportation. We will definetly be staying herre again when we are in Louisville.

Room Tip: King room has a small microwave and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I by chance was in Louisville the weekend of the Sweet 16 games, and the largest dog show in North America. I stayed on the side nearest the highway and there was noise but not too bad. The rooms were clean, and updated. Dogs stay for free at Red Roof, and thats nice! They have microwaves and a frig. I'm a fan of Red Roof but I could have possibly had a quieter room. Really tho I was quiet comfy and happy with the choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed from outside and I would suggest peps with pets stay on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Was traveling through Louisville on the way to the East Coast. Extremely clean room and everything seemed new in the room. Probably the best RRI I've stayed at. Not in the best neighborhood as far as something to eat, but easy access to the highway. Very friendly employees. Well worth the money to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during the dog show at the Fairgrounds. The place was packed and despite this, rooms were seriously clean and well maintained during our stay. Total kudos to the staff for their friendliness, patience in dealing with those patrons who didn't bother to follow instructions on scooping poop, littered and were generally pigs (as an aside they make it really difficult for us dog owners who take care of our dogs and pick up after them). There was a security guard who patrolled the parking lot at night (we really appreciated that!), a laundry room and plenty of ice. It was a pleasant stay. My only criticism would be the seriously worn and terribly warped dolly which needs to be replaced (we were on the second floor and it came in handy). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The rooms were clean and reasonably up to date. We had a bit of trouble with the A/C, but it was an unusually hot day in March so I don't know if it wasn't totally turned on. It worked, just had to keep the fan on hi to make cooling progress. As people have already mentioned, the staff seem very friendly.

Plus - pet friendly, 5-10 minutes from fairgrounds.

Only complaint - the tub/toilet area was really small. Had to move by the tub to close the door.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, first floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds

Address: 3322 Red Roof Place, Louisville, KY 40218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > South Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#13 Business Hotel in Louisville
#18 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Louisville Se - Fairgrounds Hotel Louisville
Louisville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.