We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1241 Kentucky Mills Drive, Louisville, KY 40299   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Solid at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here on way from Wisconsin to college visits in the Carolinas and to take in a Louisville Bats game since we were in town. We were greeted promptly/courteously on check-in and the our room (2 Q beds) was adequate and surprisingly quiet given the proximity of the property to I-64. The return drive back into the downtown area and drive back to hotel that evening after baseball was a snap. We didn't explore much of the area restaurants (except a late run to McDonalds to feed a teenager) so cannot vouch for much else. Like all Country Inns, the lobby area is nice--though on this stay was dominated by a traveling girls basketball camp and their parents and little room for us to hang. It was also somewhat off-putting to encounter a smoking area (and beer drinking area) just to right of the entrance--not completely the hotel's fault, but it detracted from our first (and subsequent) impressions nevertheless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Madblogger F,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all of your comments. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Louisville. Thank you for all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We would like to apologize for the lobby area and the outside area. Thank you for your concerns about that. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
20
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We always know this will be an enjoyable stay - clean, friendly and quiet. We know that our room is going to be ready, clean and nice. We were glad to see that they have changed to 'real' plates and silverware for the breakfast area. The location is in a quiet light industrial park, so there is an opportunity for exercise, walking around the streets. Would recommend it to all who stay in Louisville....

Room Tip: most rooms are quiet - even with proximity to the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear 2Codgers,

Thank you for telling us about your visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for staying with us again and again. We appreciate all of our loyal guests. Thank you for mentioning the plates in the breakfast area. We are always trying to make our breakfast service better. Thank you so much for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville-East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I said here for three days and the room was nice and it was a clean hotel. I found after staying at the same hotel in Georgetown that the personal here at this hotel you could not tell if the were guest or the staff. I feel they should ware at least a vest of the hotel colors. They were not as friendly as the other hotel. It was nice hotel for the short stay.

Room Tip: Was on the fourth floor away from everything try for second floor if you want to use pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Joymay51,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. Thank you for mentioning how you felt that our staff needs to be more professional. Thanks for bringing that to our attention. Our guest is always our number one priority in our hotel. We will take these comments and pass them on to our staff. We appreciate all guest feedback. It helps us make the necessary improvements to make our hotel better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I usually have a good experience with a Country Inns and Suites, so I tried this one in Louisville. When I walked down the 3rd floor to my room, the corridor smelled musty. Inside my room, it was very dusty. I had a hard time staying asleep as the comforters (and perhaps the sheets) were dusty and I had a hard time breathing. I awoke with my eyes puffy. All better after leaving the hotel. And the breakfast was nothing to write home about. I like food bland, but the hot breakfast was extremely tasteless and almost stale. Well, you get what you pay for. Now having been there and seeing the other competition (3-4 other hotels) right next door, I will try them out should I come back to Louisville. I've learned my lesson not to stay in this Country Inns and Suites.

Room Tip: If you smell it being musty, find another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Susannelf,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you were not comfortable in your room. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We are sorry also that you were not satisfied with your breakfast. We appreciate all guest feedback. It helps us make the necessary changes to make our hotel better for you and for future guests to our hotel. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was a first stay at a Country Inn & Suites and was booked using Club Carlson points. As a Silver Elite member I was told to ask for an upgrade to a suite which I did over the phone with no fuss or problem. Late evening check was speedy, efficient and courteous. The hotel backs on to I-64 but the double glazing meant that there was little traffic noise. The hotel is situated next to three other hotels and is not far from restaurants and gas stations.The first thing that struck me about the separate bedroom/living room/bathroom was that they were about 30% smaller than a comparable Hilton/Holiday Inn in size. This was not that much of a problem for a one night stay but might have been for a longer stay. There was a good size fridge and microwave and nice work desk and chair. The two televisions were old-style and not flat screen TVs. The room was clean and in good decorative order but dated in design, bed was comfortable with good pillows, and there was a sofa bed in the living room, plus one other armchair. Bathroom shower curtain and towels were poor and needed replacing. Breakfast was average and typical for the "free breakfast" that this type of hotel offers. Hotel seems seriously understaffed, as often the front desk had a "Helping another guest, back in a minute" sign displayed.
The main drawback for the stay was the old fashioned and very noisy air conditioning. How do they expect you to get a good night's sleep with this very noisy blown air design?
Other than that everything was OK, but just OK. And the room was priced at about $125 if I had paid rather than using points.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear RedsteveUSA ,

Thank you for telling us about your visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We are so sorry that your air conditioner was noisy we have passed this and all of your concerns on to the management staff. Guest feedback good and bad is very important to us as a hotel. It helps make the necessary changes to improve our service to you and to future guests to our hotel. Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I've stayed at this Country Inn & Suites many times, usually around thanksgiving, and I am happy to say it still exceeds my expectations and the staff really make you feel welcome at the hotel!

We stayed from 4/10-4/12 and checked out today (4/13). The room looked very clean, and it looked like the carpeting is brand new, or it was recently replaced. The bathroom had plenty of towels and everything was clean.

The breakfast area had lots of hot and cold food each morning, with waffles, cereal, toast, and eggs being standard every day we were there. They also had doughnuts, sausage, breakfast potatoes, and biscuits and gravy available on different days. Very filling and there is something for everyone.

The pool is still nice, and the deck looks re-done. The walls might need a new coat of paint and a light bulb or two was burnt out, but neither is related to the actual pool. The hot tub/spa was very hot, which is nice compared to some hotels that barely heat it.

Overall the hotel was a great and welcoming place to stay, and I will definitely try to stay here in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Wayfarer149,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so happy that you keep staying with us. We appreciate your loyalty. We have made many good changes to the hotel. We also appreciate your comments about the breakfast. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our first visit to this property, and we really enjoyed our stay.
Adam at check-in was very helpful and very eager to ensure our stay was completely satisfactory. We arrived a little earlier in the day, and he asked for our input in where our room would be. Once we checked in we discovered that the mini fridge in our room was not cooling properly (we had some antibiotics for one of our children that needed to be refrigerated), and Adam promptly took care of the issue.
We stayed 3 nights. Our room was clean and comfortable; housekeeping brought us extra towels when we asked; our room was always clean and tidy when we returned in the afternoons; and the staff often asked how our stay was.
The complementary breakfast was a little sparse, but probably pretty comparable to other similarly priced locations. The coffee was very good, however!
My husband and girls really enjoyed the pool. The pool area was clean and apparently well-kept.
We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in the Louisville area!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building a little quieter than the rooms on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear MaryOstrander_OH,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with your family. We are glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We appreciate your comments about the pool. We are glad that your family enjoyed the pool area. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East

Address: 1241 Kentucky Mills Drive, Louisville, KY 40299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East Hotel Louisville
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East
Country Inn Louisville
Louisville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.