We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, friendly and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerheads

Hammerheads
Swan Street, Louisville, KY 40204 (Germantown)
(502) 365-1112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,560 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, International, Hamburgers, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Germantown
San Pedro, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loud, friendly and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

It's in a basement in an out of the way corner of town, but is well worth looking for. It manages to blend a hipster vibe with the feel of a friendly neighborhood haunt. My group was two adults and two kids, and we found it to be quite enjoyable. Low ceilings mean that the place is very loud - probably a bit too loud for the youngsters. However, the service was excellent, both in terms of recommending great dishes for everyone and making sure that the kids were kept occupied and happy. I had a burger, which was fantastic. I'll try and pay it a visit again if I make it back to Louisville.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    51
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place is hard to find like others have said but worth it. The atmosphere is fun and different in the basement. Our waitress was great and gave us good recommendations as well as the previous reviews. We ate both kind of fries - Grippo and truffle oil. We loved the truffle oil. The ribs were dry and sweet - very tender. The sliders were good as well as the Mac and cheese balls. My husband had the hamburger and said it was a do-over - very good. Know that your clothes will have that smoky smell - they smoke all their meats right outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

When people queue up for a restaurant the chances are it's going to be good and this place was excellent.

From the outside it looks like a regular house, than a restaurant but don't let that put you off and when your table is ready you're taken into the basement room which is pretty cool.

The menu is fab, we ordered the duck tacos - my favorite, ribs - talk about falling off the bone, best ribs ever, pork belly sliders. We tried the baked beans yummy and the fries were good too.

Kids enjoyed the Mac & cheese balls that were huge.

All in all we had a fab dinner, at a fab restaurant

Loved it and the best bit great value

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Creative menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

As we drove up to Hammerheads we were surprised when the GPS said we had arrived. In front of us appeared to be a restaurant in a basement and that is most certainly what it was. Tall people be careful... low overhead clearance for sure. Do not let the building deter you.. The food and service is amazing. After waiting about 15 minutes we were seated and quickly greeted by our waitress who answered all of our questions and gave us some helpful menu suggestions. She also let us know that they were nearly out of brisket so we quickly ordered some. We also ordered the Mac and Cheese balls and duck sliders. Both appetizers were delicious but the duck sliders were over the top. For dinner we all tried different things off the menu and no one was dissatisfied. The Grippo flavored fries were amazing. Overall, we were impressed with the creative menu. Everything we ordered was hot and delicious. We cannot wait to go back and try different things!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fun, Unique Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you want a unique experience with unique good food then this is the place for you to go! Be prepared to wait outside and it is in a residential community. The restaurant is in the basement of a house. Once you get inside it is very loud but the service is really good even though they are very busy. All four of us got something different and we all really enjoyed our meals. You can share a basket of fries among your group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads also viewed

 

Been to Hammerheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerheads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.