We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerheads

Hammerheads
Swan Street, Louisville, KY 40204 (Germantown)
(502) 365-1112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,560 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, International, Hamburgers, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Germantown
Louisville, ky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A group of friends went to Hammerheads after hearing great things about the food. We had a short wait (30 minutes) and had to fight our way to the bar for drinks but the food was excellent. The rib meat fell off the bone and the Sweet potato waffle and chicken was a HUGE hit with our group. You can't have a drink outside while waiting for a table which is the only downside but for a fun, casual dinner with a great beer selection, this place was GREAT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    51
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The place looks like a dive but the food is excellent. The meat is cooked until it is almost falling off the bone. Some of the best BBQ that I've ever had. One downside is that the sauce is mediocre but the taste of the meat more than made up for it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When you've got something good....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My fiance and I went here based on reviews and looking for something other than chain food. Let me just say AMAZING FOOD! Servers were very friendly! Arrive at 5 as they will be packed at 5 sharp when they open the doors! We got there on a Sat night at 4:55. We were given our choice of seating going in and served quickly! Duck sandwich is amazing! Truffle fries and Grippo Fries are equally delicious! I got the half rack baby back ribs, and it was a very large helping! Will definitely be back! It is a bar type setting but has a few tables as well. 5 stars!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a basement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

In addition to all the fantastic smoked meat dishes the soft shell crab dishes are equally outstanding. The soft shell Tacos were perfect, just the right amount of seasoning, and the crab was moist and tasty. Yes, you will wait for a table unless you arrive before they open. The decor is basement minimalism. There is one large lighted, colorful beer sign over the "bar" but they don't have this beer. The staff is great. Be aware that the food arrives as the kitchen completes each dish. When the food arrives the oddities of this place disappear.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great food, but hard to find a seat sometimes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only real complaint with this place is that it's often hard to find a seat and parking can be a real pain. That goes to show how popular it is, though.

A nice selection of beer and food that won't disappoint. I suggest going at an off time or parking a bit away and walking there (it can also be difficult to find).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads also viewed

 

Been to Hammerheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerheads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.