We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connect with nature.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Zoo

Louisville Zoo
1100 Trevilian Way, Louisville, KY 40213 (Poplar Level)
(502) 459-2181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 161 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Connect with nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a fantastic zoo. The grounds are well laid out and wonderfully kept. Ample areas in the shade to rest and enjoy the scenery. The animals are varied and appear to be well kept. Viewing animals is easy. This is one of the finest zoos in America.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    208
    73
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We love going to the Louisville Zoo. We started taking our kids when they were toddlers. They are now teenagers and still love going. The exhibits are always well kept and the entire zoo is always well maintained. The food is good and reasonably priced. If you plan on visiting two times per year, I highly recommend getting a zoo pass. It is definitely the most economical way and it allows you to get discounts on food and in the gift shop. You will also get free or discounted admission to zoos across the country.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“what a great place for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

it offers something for everyone, at anytime. We even tried to partake it in a snowstorm! Easy access and never too crowded.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“great for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The zoo offers memberships which are great for families with small children. The zoo is just big enough to see lots of different animals but not too big where you feel overwhelmed or exhausted by the end of your visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fun adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was a beautiful zoo! I traveled as 1 of 4 adults, along with my son who was around 6 months old at the time. It was quite hot when we went, but we still had a great experience. The zoo was a little smaller than some, but I think that made it more enjoyable because you did not have to travel as far between animals. And speaking of animals, there were plenty to see and some of them were quite interactive. Particularly the orangutans that are in an indoor shelter. We really enjoyed our trip to Louisville!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.