We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-maintained modern zoo, great way to spend a few hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Zoo

Louisville Zoo
1100 Trevilian Way, Louisville, KY 40213 (Poplar Level)
(502) 459-2181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 161 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Zionsville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Well-maintained modern zoo, great way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Louisville Zoo has consistently tried to maintain a high standard of living for its animals as it has evolved over the last several decades. Like many smaller to medium sized zoos, it tries to keep a mix of the expected animals as well as a few species that perhaps you haven't seen anywhere else before. It is easy to get around with wide sidewalks, though it does have hilly areas that will give you some exercise getting from some parts of the zoo to others (this is not a bad thing--just something to note if you tire easily). I have visited the zoo at least half a dozen times, and always enjoyed it. I look forward to seeing the polar bear exhibit the next time I go--it was under construction at our last visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    209
    73
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent a Saturday afternoon here late October. Our son is in the Army and got in free of charge, so that was very nice surprise. Nice layout with great small indoor exhibits; it was a little chilly the day we visited, so it was nice to go indoors to warm up. The polar bear exhibit is one of the largest and best we've seen. The penguin exhibit was a disappointment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a few hours at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My family has a membership at another center so we only had to pay half price to get into the zoo. The layout of the zoo is really nice. There is lots of shade for those hot summer days. We got there right about when it opened so it would be cooler as we went in late August. We loved the set up for the bears. So much fun to watch them walk over us. We had lunch at the safari cafe and it was decent. All the staff members we met were very nice. The splash park for little kids was closed. I don't know why a zoo would have a mini water area for kids. My daughter is 9 so we would have skipped that anyway. We loved the wax figures you could make as you walked through the park. Best $1s we spent. Fun treats for the kids to take home. Definitely worth a few hours of your day if you are looking for something to do in Louisville.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed the zoo a lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Interesting stop while we were in Louisville. We made almost a day of it. Had a good time and learned a lot! Who ever thought elephants were trained like horses.....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My mother, husband and I visited the Louisville Zoo for the first time this past August while in the city for a family gathering. This is a wonderful place. It is a small zoo, but beautifully and intelligently laid out so that it does not seem small, but at the same time you are not walking too much. (My Mom is 73 and very active, but still . . .) The variety of the attractions and the obvious good health and happiness of the animals is to be commended. Two small complaints. The penguin exhibit smells dreadful. (Now, I know penguin guano stinks, so don't point that out.) But this is an indoor exhibit, and I know that a better air filtration system would seriously lessen the stench. Second complaint, there is a small cemetery in the center of the zoo, well preserved, obviously honored. But there is a serious lack of explanation as to why it was there beyond a small plaque saying who it MIGHT be in the plots. Very odd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.