We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific service and a great breakfast ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific service and a great breakfast ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have stayed in a lot of Hampton inns and this one is at the top of the list.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. There is a shuttle that will take you wherever you need to go and come back to pick you up. The breakfast was above average for a typical Hampton Inn. We wish they were all this good!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks so much for the terrific review following your stay here. I'm glad that the staff impressed you with the service they offered and that you enjoyed our breakfast. The shuttle service we provide to downtown venues is certainly popular with our guests and I'm glad you utilized it. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    147
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
118
97
29
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Mountain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Bad first...This Hampton Inn is due for some remodeling. The downstairs lobby and eating facilities are ok but the rest of the hotel has that 'overused' feeling. They provided a good amount of options for breakfast, but the eggs and meats should be avoided. Cereal is your friend here, or the oatmeal was very good too. The carpets are getting thinner and the towels need replacing the room. The beds also need replacing as they are starting to sag a bit. That is as critical as I can get because otherwise the staff was very helpful.
The good....The hotel (despite feeling worn through) was clean and I felt comfortable in the rooms. The hotel is very close to everything downtown. We went walking and within 15 min were at the Louisville Slugger Factory on the other end of Downtown. The hotel was safe and I didn't feel in danger like I do sometimes in some downtown hotels after dark. The maid left me hand written personal notes every day (which some people might think is creepy, but I thought it was nice). Things like "Have a great day today!" and "It's been a pleasure serving your needs while here!" I would have thought it was creepy if those notes ended up in a homemade lunch, but left on the nightstand I thought was rather nice. The room was quiet and I couldn't hear the elevator or outside noise (this is a big plus for me).
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the North were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for writing following your recent stay with us. Our goal with every guest is to provide a clean and welcoming environment and a restful nights sleep. I was pleased to see that we accomplished that with this visit. I'm also glad that you found the little extra touches provided by the housekeeping staff as a pleasant surprise. We are constantly upgrading/replacing linens and bedding and will, in fact, be replacing all of our beds this fall. I hope to see you back on a future visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is downtown and within walking distance to most attractions. When we first arrived I was very impressed with the lobby. I have stayed in many Hamptons but none had a lobby that looked this nice. The rooms are a little on the small size but comfortable.
Staff was very nice and I really liked that they have a free shuttle that you can take to many of the local attractions if you don't feel like walking. You can also call them for a pick up.
The had a real nice breakfast.
Staff were also very friendly.
I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for the great 5 star review from your recent stay. I'm pleased that our hotel, location, breakfast offerings and staff all contributed to a positive experience. We hope you will choose us again on a future trip to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The lobby area, rooms, facilities, etc, were all incredibly clean. This Hampton has the largest indoor pool I have ever seen in a Hampton. The front desk staff were exceptional. I do agree that the hotel is dated, but its clean. The beds were too hard and the pillows were too thick for my liking. I was disappointed that the hotel didn't provide a microwave or mini fridge in the rooms. The breakfast didn't taste fresh and the parking lot didn't feel safe. Every time I would go to the car someone would come up to me and ask for money. Also, you should think about getting larger towels for the pool. I'm a skinny guy, 145 pounds, and the towels were like wash clothes. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the pool and found our hotel clean with a welcoming staff. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy breakfast, as there is usually enough variety of items to satisfy everyone. I will follow up with our security team on the parking lot issue you mentioned to ensure that this is taken care of. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed 4 days and 4 nights. My room and the property were dated and should be renovated or at least brought up to the Hampton Inn standard. The furniture and especially my mattress were well worn. Ear plugs were a necessity since my room was next to the elevators which thumped and groaned while in use and the outside A/C units hummed loudly throughout the night. The breakfast area was easily overwhelmed with guests and ran out of food well before the breakfast hours ended 2 days out of the 4. On a positive note, the staff was very accommodating and pleasant. On my return trip to Louisville the following week, I elected to stay at a different downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write following your stay with us. I'm sorry that your experience here did not meet your expectations and it certainly did not meet ours. I will follow up with my staff on the areas pointed out and correct those areas immediately. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future and I would be happy to personally make your reservations to ensure a trouble free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Decent hotel, seems to be a little older but has been updated. Located right next to several chain restaurants, so it is convenient for dinner. A little more expensive than the usual Hampton, don't really know why.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. We were glad that you chose to stay with us and found that our location to be convenient and our hotel updated. We hope you will keep us in mind if your travel plans take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this Hampton. The location is great. Parking is free but that is basically all our car did after checking in was park. We were able to walk to all kinds of attraction (Louisville Slugger Museum, 4th Street Live, Convention Center) and restaurants. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Wifi was decent. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful offering restaurant suggestions and directions. Breakfast is your standard Hampton assortment. The pool was fun for my 12 year old. The fitness room was adequate with the standard treadmills, stationary bike and weights. If you stay on the north side (backside) of the hotel and there is a baseball game going, you might even get to see fireworks out your window like we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks for writing a review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that our central location, service and hotel amenities (free parking, pool, breakfast, etc.) made for an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again if your travels take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#15 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.