We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the nicer Hampton Inns we have stayed in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“one of the nicer Hampton Inns we have stayed in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chose this one based on its convenient location to the ballpark and downtown restaurants. The rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was very nice with both hot and cold options. We were pleasantly surprised given some of the mixed reviews we had seen. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: We were on one of the top floors and others in our party were on lower floors. They said it got noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. We appreciate your business and the feedback you provided. I'm glad that you found the hotel's location, room cleanliness and breakfast offering to your liking. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    143
    48
    12
    13
See reviews for
116
95
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautiful, clean city. Hotel in the heart of everything. Clean, well staffed and an excellent hot breakfast. Fresh lemonade on hand always. Comfortable beds and very clean bathrooms. Only problem was very slow elevators and hallway noise easily heard from room. The Wi Fi was excellent, and I was able to work on-line with no interruptions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to Louisville and thanks for the review. We like to get feedback on how we did and your comments indicate we met your expectations. I'm glad that you found our facilities cleanliness, staff, breakfast and WiFi to your liking. I hope you will consider staying here again if your travels take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We normally stay in the Springhill Suites, but we decided to try something different. The main reason is cost. We got a suite at the Hampton Inn, and still paid almost $20 less than the Springhill Suites. It is directly across the street from the Springhill Suites.

It's got a good location, if you want to visit some of the museums or Fourth Street Live. All are within walking distance.

I haven't stay too often at Hampton Inns, but this one was OK. The area to eat was decent, and looked remodeled. There is a hotel bar, as well.

The room was fair from fancy. It had a queen bed, and a pullout couch. The pullout couch area had a lot of wasted space. It could have been a little more impressive.

The breakfast was OK. It had a decent variety, which made my son happy.

If we come back, I might try another hotel, just to compare.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I appreciate your business and I'm glad that you tried us out, after normally staying at another hotel. I'm glad that our location, food and beverage venues and the value that we offer (not to mention the complimentary parking) was to your liking. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you're traveling to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Thank you Jesse and J.P. for all your assistance. You were very helpful and it is a joy to be treated so kindly by staff. I will not hesitate to book with Hampton Inn Jefferson Street the next time I am in Louisville.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review and kind words about Jessi and JP. I'll be sure that they see your feedback---we love it when guests feel like they've received great service. We hope you will return and stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was great! We had never been to Louisville before and didn't know what to expect. If you have the choice, and can afford to pay a little bit more, staying downtown is definitely the way to go. The Hampton Inn was within walking distance of almost everything you'd want to do in the city. There are a lot of great little bars to check out. We really liked the Troll Pub Under the Bridge and BBC brewery. If you get the chance, check out Fourth Street Live. It's just a few blocks from the hotel and has a lot going on in the evenings. A Shell station is across the street in case you need to stop for water or any extra supplies.

The room was very nice and neat. There was no safe, refrigerator, or microwave in the room. We stayed in a room facing Jefferson, which for lighter sleepers may be a bit too loud. It didn't disturb us at all, especially while the AC unit was running in the room. There were, however, the occasional sirens. We also had a room that adjoined a neighboring room. I feel that we could hear the people beside us a bit more than usual because of this. Really, no complaints though. Very quiet hotel otherwise.

Breakfast is offered from 6-10 on the weekends. There's the standard fair, but they also had cheese omelettes, sausage, potatoes, and salsa. Everyone at the hotel was incredibly nice and helpful. We plan to return and the Hampton Inn is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Request a room off of the road if a lighter sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for all the feedback you provided on the review you wrote. We appreciate hearing about how you felt about the hotel and our staff. The fact that you want to stay again with us is all the affirmation we need! We're glad that everything worked out so well for you and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good location. Walking distance to some good dining. Nice pool, quiet room, great breakfast. Will stay again next times are in town. Easy access in and out of downtown, free parking. Property has some nice seating areas that were nice for the family to gather and visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found our location, free parking, breakfast offerings and lobby area all to your liking. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The pool is large and spacious and the staff are very friendly. There is also a complimentary shuttle which is helpful. The breakfast is free but it is average quality. Rooms are small and the bed is not the most comfortable but overall the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. We welcome your feedback as we continually strive to improve on our product and services. I was pleased to see that you found the pool, shuttle and our staff service as positive parts of your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to serve as your hosts the next time you travel to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Louisville
#16 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.