We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the KFC Yum Center at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Southern Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Close to the KFC Yum Center at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Attended a concert at the KFC Yum Center and needed someplace to spend the night that was within walking distance. The hotel is 2 blocks away and has free parking. The rooms appear to have been recently updated. The breakfast area was very large with plenty of seating. There is even a bar area in the lobby, but I did not use it. There are many places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. When walking back from the concert very late there were police on every corner making it quite safe to walk back alone in the dark. Would definitely stay here again if attending another event at the Yum Center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that everything worked out so well for you. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    148
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
118
97
29
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I checked out of the hotel. Four hours later I realized I left my coat in the room. I called to see if it had been turned in. I had to call 3 times before anyone from the hotel called me back. When I finally spoke with the assistant manager, he said he no way of knowing whether I was telling the truth, whether I had I left the door ajar and another guest came in the room and took my coat or whether housekeeping found it. He suggested I keep calling back in case it turned up. This hotel seems to have poor processes for managing house staff, poor processes for reporting and securing objects left behind by guests and no real concern whether the guest is made whole or not. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for reaching out again regarding this incident. I apologize for the fact that we were unable to locate your missing jacket. I'm sorry that fact tainted your overall experience at our hotel. We handle many, many lost and found items left behind by guests during the course of the year with success. Should this item turn up, we will of course contact you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a very pleasurable stay at this Hampton. Staff is very nice and accommodating, location just off the interstate and walking distance to 4th St happenings and the beautiful riverside. Wish we would have stayed more then one night!

Thank you Hampton for your welcoming staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make you feel at home and welcomed here and by the feedback you provided, we achieved that goal. We hope you will keep us in mind for any future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkdale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

this was a very nice hotel and stay. But the next time I would stay two nights need more time to see and discover everything around town. Hampton is by far my first choice when I stay at Higher end hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for writing a review following your recent stay. We are glad everything worked out well for you at our hotel. We will be looking forward to your return in the near future when you can stay a bit longer and enjoy more of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir city, TN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Hotel was within walking distance to the basketball arena. They allowed us to park our car free while we went to the game. The room was excellent. The breakfast was average and the restocking of the food items was a little slow.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for providing feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that our location with easy access to the arena worked out so well. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our breakfast offerings---that is usually an area where we get a lot of positive feedback. I will share your comments with the breakfast team to encourage improvement in that area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good location if you have business downtown. Lobby was nice and the staff very friendly. as one mentioned, the room layouts are a little odd. Can't get to the closet and the bathroom door opened into the bed. A bit strange but overall a comfortable stay as I get at most Hamptons. A bit pricey but I had a meeting 2 blocks away so it was worth it to leave the car and walk. Overall a nice place to stay and the breakfast was solid as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your stay. I'm glad that our downtown location worked out so well for you. As the only downtown hotel to offer complimentary parking, we hope you found that as an added value too. We hope to see you again if your travels take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room layouts are horrible making the closet worthless and the only vending machine is in the lobby. The beds were comfortable but the room was way over priced for the inconvenience and annoyance. The Free Breakfast was very nice however and the lobby and bar area's were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I'm glad that you found the bed, breakfast and public areas to your liking. I'm sorry that the layout in the room you were assigned caused a problem. As our room layouts differ from location to location, in the future please feel free to reach out to me directly when making your reservation. I will ensure that you are assigned a room that does not present this problem again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#14 Family Hotel in Louisville
#14 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.