We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over in Louisville....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stop over in Louisville....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at this hotel!! Convenient to all of downtown and at a great price. Room was clean and on the end of hall. Very quiet. Would def stay here again. Another positive is the parking. It's free and onsite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm glad that you found our central location, with free parking and clean and quiet accommodations to your liking. We know that you have many choices of where to stay when traveling and are glad you stayed with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    128
    39
    11
    13
See reviews for
100
82
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stopped in around 8 pm after a day of driving, Zach was at the front desk and got us a room right away, the price was right and the room beautiful. The down comforter was a bit "lumpy" but the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was less than expected. Eggs tasted like powdered, the hot water for the hot chocolate wasn't hot. They could have used another staff person to help out. The lady that was there did a great job but it was busy and hard for her to do it all on her own. We were on the 8th floor and apparently the trash outside is collected at 3am and the large bins are drooped from quite a height because it woke us both up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for writing a review about your experiences. I apologize that the breakfast offerings were not to your satisfaction. We typically do a fine job in this area and will work harder in the future to ensure we deliver a more consistent product. I will also check with our trash hauling company. That time of the morning is much earlier than we should be picked up. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Hampton Inn in downtown Louisville. They gave me the hospital rate as my husband was having surgery and I did not want to make the almost 40 miles each way drive back and forth on the first two days. They have a wonderful shuttle service that took me to and from the hospital at no charge. I didn't have to take my car in, park and then walk the full distance each time. The breakfast was Super ! Great selection and the scrambled eggs were hot and really good. The desk staff was very helpful and courteous. I heartily recommend this place for anyone who has a loved one at one of the hospitals. I was not then worn out from the long drive and could visit two or three times a day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and endorsement of our hotel. I'm glad that our hotel and staff provided you with a stress free environment during a stressful time for you. I'll be sure to share your feedback with everyone here. Let us know if we can be of any help to you if you need to return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you are using a iPhone for direction to the place, you will get lost. The hotel entrance is on the opposite side where the GPS says it is. The rooms are clean. But lacks a fridge. Staff gave a lot if restaurant recommendations. They were spot on. The breakfast is your typical Hampton inn breakfast (which I like). I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback about your recent stay with us and for writing a review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad that you found the rooms clean, the breakfast to your liking and the staff's recommendations about local restaurants useful. I will check on the issue you brought up about the directions, I had not heard that before you brought it to my attention. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

You know what you are getting with most Hampton Inn's and this is no exception. The hotel is very centrally located within walking distance of restaurants & bars. There is free parking, always a nice bonus. The staff we came across were all very helpful & happy to recommend good places to eat and drink.
The room was spacious, quiet (but it was midweek), and comfortable. Breakfast was of a good standard and there were no queues. The only criticism we had was the pillows were tiny for a king sized bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your experience at our hotel. I'm glad that everything worked out well for you. I'll be sure to share your feedback with our staff. They like hearing when they make a difference in someone's stay. We are in the process of replacing pillows in the rooms and the issue you encountered should be resolved soon. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Idaho, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was great. Employees were very reluctant to outright refusing to provide me with shuttle service (the store I wanted to go to was not even 3 miles away). They tried to get me to use a cab instead of their advertised airport shuttle. The maids cleaned in a hit and miss way - my last night there I actually had to go and ask for more toilet paper. One day (I stayed 5 nights) I asked to borrow a complimentary umbrella. At first was told they didn't have any to loan and then in the same breath said they had 2 but didn't offer it to me. I asked if I could borrow 1 and was asked if I was going to stay the night - I said yes. Was then asked for my room number - made me feel like she thought I would steal it. Then the umbrella she gave me was this pathetic, really thin umbrella that looked like it would disintegrate in a strong wind. kind of sad. Definitely not the experience of my conference co-attendees who stayed at other local hotels. Location was convenient to 4th street live and convention center - I really appreciated being able to walk. Breakfasts were really good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write following your stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the bed and cleanliness of your room and our breakfast offerings. Our shuttle service is limited to an eight block radius of the hotel and airport service. That is why the front desk staff was encouraging you to take a cab for your three mile trip to the store. Because of the high demand for the shuttle service, we are limited to how far we can go without disrupting service to our other guests. I will follow up with our staff on your comments about the housekeeping service and the front desk's handling of your request for an umbrella. We will certainly make every effort to improve in these areas. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel of the standard you expect from Hampton Inns. The rooms are clean, bedding comfortable and there is a fridge in the room. Staff are friendly, breakfast is free. The only downside is location, it is a quick walk to the convention center and 4th Street Live,but it is also next door to a pawn shop and opposite an adult entertainment emporium and as such has some very sketchy people around it and does not make for a comfortable walk to the attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found the accommodations clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. I will be sure to share this feedback with our staff. In the future, I encourage you to utilize our complimentary shuttle service to transport you to the local downtown restaurants and attractions. Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#29 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
East Louisville
Embassy Suites Hotel Louisville
Free internet...
Show More
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Residence Inn Louisville Downtown
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
Central Business District
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.