We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night In Louisville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One Night In Louisville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Enjoyed our one night stay on our way down south. Walking distance to the Louisville Slugger Museum that was a nice experience, had dinner a few blocks away at the Old Spagetti Factory. Room was clean, nice breakfast included (including several types of omelletes) in the morning. No problems at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. I'm glad that the location, service and staff met your expectations. We look forward to your return when your travels take you back to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    130
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
103
86
26
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have stayed at several Hampton Inns (and other hotels) over the last 5 months. All of the service has been good, but that of the staff and personnel at this hotel has been, hands down, the very best. EVERY employee I encountered was unbelievably attentive and asked genuinely appropriate questions in trying to maximize the hotel's service efforts. They seemed to instinctively know what might be a need or interest.

I am not sure how this message of customer sensitivity has been conveyed...or how it is so effectively sustained throughout the entire work force, but it was quite a delight to observe. There seemed to be a true sense of ownership and empowerment at every level.

HI should take a close look at the dynamics of this environment and offer it as a model for others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Wow, what a great review about our staff. Thanks so much for your feedback about the service you received on your recent visit to our hotel. I'll be sure to share this with the team--they take our guests feedback very seriously and this will certainly make their day. Thanks again and we look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Convenience is a key to this location. Restaurants- YUM Center-downtown museums/attractions- major hospitals all within walking didtance. If you do not want to walk they have van service to anything downtown.

But the major draw for this location is the STAFF! They make you feel like family. Courteous friendly always a smile everything for the guest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for writing a great review following your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate the positive feedback about the service you received from our staff and I will be sure to share it with them. We look forward to your return on your next trip to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, easy to find from the freeway. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Parking is free and breakfast is of the usual Hampton Inn type. Food was plentiful even though the hotel was sold out. I booked this hotel because the price was right and because it has a pool. The website stated the pool was closed until the day we got there, so I figured we could have a nice swim the following morning. I was disappointed to find out when we arrived that the pool would be closed for another 3 days. Also, the sheet on our bed had a small blood stain on it which has probably been overlooked by the housekeeping staff. Beds are really comfy otherwise, as is always the case with Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to use your input to help us to improve on our service and products for the future. I sincerely apologize for the delay in reopening the pool following our renovation work in that area. The unexpected delay was the result of additional time needed for the pool surface to cure after it was repainted. I was pleased to see that the front desk and breakfast teams provided great service to you. Thanks again for your input and we hope to see you the next time you travel to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for six nights during a conference. Property was clean, breakfast the normal fare, room as expected. Every member of the front desk staff was super friendly and very helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. the only odd thing was the housekeeping services. Every day they knocked on the door and wondered if you wanted any services? Huh? Wouldn't they just do what is expected? One day they didn't replace used towels even though they were not hung up, they would replace some things and forget others, like toilet paper. Just thought it was strange.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the feedback---it gives us the opportunity to continue in our efforts to improve our hotel. I apologize for the problems you experienced with housekeeping service. I will follow up with the staff to correct these issues at once. I'm glad that the service provided by the front desk team met your expectations. I hope that if your travels take you back to our area, you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This trip was to attend a technical meeting nearby in the Convention Center. My experience in booking this hotel was OK, even though I did not get my first choice in rooms - one does realize that many booked in advance and got better rooms. When I called mid-morning to see if I could check in early, I was told that check-in time was 3 PM, no need to arrive early. Usually I find that front desk personnel try to be accomodating - not this time. Usually the Hilton Honors classification helps with requests and services, but not here. None of the Honors benefits have been delivered to the room, and it's after 10 PM.

The room is what one usually expects at a Hampton Inn, and this hotel is no better and no worse.

My opinion is that the staff is overworked and under trained in delivering Hilton Honors services and benefits. Those little items help to maintain brand loyalty, and I saw no attention to services and benefits at this location. Next time I'm in Louisville, I'll look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book early for your choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you did not receive a Hhonors Diamond level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff and we will undertake additional Hhonors training. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of service. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A short business trip that showed a good aspect of the city, friendly staff and convenient location. The city was booked and we could only score that hotel in last minute. The pricing was low and conveninent. The breakfast was pretty lame but nothing more to expect from a 4 star hotel in the USA. The concierge hooked us on a really good microbrewery 2 blocks away and we had a great dinner evening. There was a tournament in town, with sport students around and a bit of mess in the morning, but the staff managed to check us out without trouble and without letting us queue forever. Not dissatisfied, not thrilled, just as expected.

Room Tip: make sure you stay away from the level the kids stay while at a sport tournament week-end
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us details of your experience during your stay with us. Each and every review assists us with seeing how our guests view our hotel and allows us to key in on areas of opportunity. I'm happy to hear that my staff was satisfactory and also apologize for any inconvenience that the sports team may have caused during your stay. I want to assure you that we take a special interest in going above and beyond for each and every guest and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are in Louisville KY and thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Louisville
#18 Family Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.