We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My sole complaint would be that when we called to make reservations, the person said the hotel was across the street from Louisville Slugger and that's REALLY a stretch as it felt like ti was several blocks away. However, they have a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within an 8 block radius and to and from the airport. We used it twice....once to go out for dinner & then the following morning to go to the Louisville Slugger factory. We had very little wait both to go & then be picked up. The hotel is on the expensive side ($200 per night) but our room had recently been redone & was super clean & nicely decorated. Safe & good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly redoneroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    188
    64
    21
    13
See reviews for
161
134
34
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Spent a weekend in Louisville for a "cousins reunion" and found our way to the Hampton Inn - Free parking and Free hot breakfasts, as well as location, were the keys to our decision.

We were absolutely delighted, however, with the staff at this hotel! Cassandra at the front desk got us started with several wonderful restaurant recommendations! From maintenance, to kitchen staff, to the gent working evening security, the degree of cheerful, helpful and attentive service was terrific!

Rooms were clean, comfortable, and good value for the rate paid. Parking was convenient. Breakfast foods were hot and tasty, with good variety available both mornings.

The location? Couldn't be better! Walk a few blocks down First Street and hop a free Trolley cross town. Walk a few blocks down Jefferson? And you're at Fourth Street Live, the entertainment district. The Arena is there as well. Another few blocks to the Museum District. If it rains? Take the free hotel shuttle. Can't lose with this hotel!

Had so much fun exploring the local area, we didn't try the hotel pool, or fitness facilities. An abundance of excellent local restaurants are within walking distance if you'd prefer to avoid the chain restaurants at Fourth Street (Hillbilly Tea and Toast on Market were both terrific).

Explore Louisville. Stay at the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

So I book 2 rooms for 4 nights coming this November for Breeders Cup.Booked 5 days ago on corporate site....prepaid, non cancelable, lowest rate possible,,,,blah blah. Now I understand jacking the rates up from $150/night to $245/night the last 3 nights because of the races.Today on Priceline my buddy says the same rooms are $150/night ALL 4 NIGHTS!!(thus saving $300 each)..Called Hampton to see about matching this since my prepaid non refund in fact was NOT the lowest possible rate. Terrible Customer service... disconnected once.left on hold >15 minutes.passed around from person to person like a tramp... now awaiting return call from corporate...not holding my breath BASIC FACEPALM. Deceptive at best...false advertising at worst

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

from the elevator not working to the front desk clerk telling me no wireless to the stained
'comforter'...ick

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Room was very nice and breakfast was exceptional. Staff very friendly, helpful and checking on satisfaction with services. BUT one elevator had a very creeky stained floor (kind of scary) and the hallway carpet on the 5th floor was filthy and badly stained. Not a good first impression.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hotel was well taken care of. Very clean.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Service with a smile...on top of that, they even remember your name.
Centrally located. Access to and from highways are accessible.
Free breakfast was a bonus. Not a 5 star restaurant, but it was free!
Will definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in downtown Louisville, and we loved the location! It was walkable with a 1yr old, to all the museums, the waterfront park and 4th Street Live. If you were seeing a concert at the YUM Center, it is right behind the hotel. The hotel was nice, the indoor pool was clean and not crowded, and the service was very responsive to any requests/questions we had. They also have a free shuttle that will take you to anywhere in an 8 block radius. We also enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast each morning. It's close to the expressway, and I would recommend a side trip to the Highlands, which is only a few miles away. It has a nice little downtown, and the restaurant Jack Fry's is amazing! Not what you'd expect by looking at the outside

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 2,588 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Central Business District
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Address: 101 East Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#10 Business Hotel in Louisville
#11 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.