We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest - Louisville

Harvest - Louisville
624 East Market Street, Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 384-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest - Louisville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 1,440 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Hancock & Clay
Description: harvest...a locally grown restaurant.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had lunch on Sunday and it was good we had a reservation because we probably would not have gotten a table. I had Brioche French Toast and it was very good, but could have had more of the bourbon paw paw custard on it. My husband had a brunch special omelete with seasonal slaw that he enjoyed. We shared the three cheese grits and they were super. Service was good. The entrees were $12 each.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    60
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were in town for the Farm Machinery Show and it was Valentines Day and Harvest was the first place we called that we could get in. The food was overall really good and unique. I liked the atmosphere and the service was exceptional. I felt like it was a little pricey, but I know that kind of food is more expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What am awesome restaurant. Great food! Great service! Great drinks and selection. Would highly highly recommend to anyone in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I'm glad we made a reservation - Harvest was quite busy for Sunday brunch, so just showing up might have resulted in a delay. I really enjoyed my brioche French Toast and a bourbon cocktail (Keeping up with the Joneses), while my husband licked his plate which had held a sunny side up egg sandwich, served with a pretzel croissant. The décor was fun but not fussy - tables made out of recycled wood, beautiful hammered copper basins in the rest rooms. And the people watching was fun, too: a wide variety of ages, couples, groups, locals, tourists, etc. Nice that the ingredients are locally sourced, and the servers were uniformly friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All about trend, not taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I visit Louisville once a year with my husband (business). I was really excited to dine at Harvest because of their "farm-to-table" cuisine.

I have to say, service was wonderful. Our wait person had the specials and menu committed to memory, but she really didn't know a whole bunch beyond that. For example, I asked about a couple of the local beers on draft, and received a blank stare and a couple of guesses. Still, she was attentive, warm, and prompt.

As for the food: totally underwhelming, so disappointing. The meat & cheese board was completely uninspired and could have been thrown together at the local Kroger. I appreciated the effort with the house-cured beef jerky, but it missed the mark by a mile.

My husband ordered the Wheatberry Risotto: Bland & tasteless. I had the Harvest Steak entrée...Good Lord, no. The steak was BLAND (salt & pepper, people!) and overdone, chewy and charred in a bad way. The square of accompanying butternut squash bread pudding was okay, comforting, but nothing my 11 year old couldn't throw together. Honestly, the best part of the meal was the crispy sweet potatoes that topped the pudding as a garnish; I had to share with my husband because he just wanted to eat SOMETHING with some flavor.

We knew going in that it was a pricey establishment, but because the food was so under-par, the bill was a joke. I appreciate that it focuses on locally-sourced ingredients, but that doesn't make up for the fact that Harvest is all about trend, NOT the food. Nashville is only 3 hours away; the chef(s) should take a day trip to Etch and learn something.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest - Louisville also viewed

Louisville, KY
 

Been to Harvest - Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest - Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.